Hiding Under The Living Room Table / Languor / A short story + Artwork

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

16507848_10154210572181332_6688389712024218080_n.jpg

I have been hiding under the living-room table for almost a thousand years. I have hidden in many other places around the house, but this was my favourite spot. The living-room table. And a marvellous table it was, with it's precariously polished, beautifully carved legs that hung down like the limbs of a black jungle-god. By now everyone knows where I am, for they've figured out where I spend most of my time. Hiding under furniture. They call me furniture man. One day while I was concentrating on my usual hiding posture I was surprised to see a little girl sneaking in from behind me, her eyes big and wide with fear. I asked her why she was where she was. She said she was running away from her captors, and I peeked outside and I saw her entire life in the shape of a jackal scavenging through the room, in search of its little vessel. Fuck off, I said.

Why am you here? The jackal snarled at me.
Why am I here? It's a valid question. I could jolly well be outside, basking under sunshine, running around in circles, enjoying myself. It is because I still enjoy myself, outside or not, and rather immensely at that, in my little dim rectangular cave under the living-room table. There is a difference between isolation and solitude. Here, I have all that I need. Outside, a face among a thousand more, I feel isolated. Sometimes, I sneak outside and merge with everyone else to keep them happy. But wherever I go, I am always under the living-room table.

The only time I feel I should abandon my shelter is when I am in love. When I am in love, I falter. I no longer wish to be by myself, but rather with (and very awkwardly so) the one in question. I am like a cowardly dog, too afraid to come out from under the sofa to take his little scrumptious treat. I am afraid, perhaps, of heartbreak, and perhaps I am not afraid at all, but merely apathetic. Or perhaps I am afraid of dependence. I falter.

Her hair is a mesh of ebony and sunshine, almost the shade of her eyes. I remember watching her walking by, I remember dreaming. She remains beautiful, she remains graceful, while I remain untrodden, silent, staring. She is also afraid, she is indeed hiding. She is yet to pull me out. When we are together our tables bump against each other. She knows nothing yet, but might just be curious. I may be curious. I may have faltered. But I have faltered while sitting under the living-room table. And I have loved under the living-room table. And to this day, I explode into a thousand meteor showers under the living-room table, only wishing I could just crawl out.

Sort:  

giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 53. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

What an awesome short story, I really enjoyed it and I thought I would nominate you as one of my @pifc posts of the week. You can find my nomination here and you can find out more about the project here. Feel free to join us if you like :)

Hey, glad you enjoyed the piece. :) Thank you for the nomination!

Great bit here, and I dig your name @smocaine. I came after I saw @chekohler give his endorsement and pifc nomination.. I'm throwing out mad one penny votes tonight!

Posted using Partiko Android

Very cool story, @smocaine. I can relate to this. I also usually prefer to be by myself than among a lot of strangers who say nothing to me... Well done!

Congratulations on being featured by @chekohler in an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Hi @smocaine. Nice story. I get that feeling, of wanting to hide under the table myself LOL.

You were featured in week 53 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @chekohler. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure or meet new people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66214.90
ETH 2997.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73