Lets Talk About Flash Fiction with Layden Robinson

in #writing6 years ago

interviewed Layden Robinson on Twitter the other day. We both enjoy writing flash fiction so I asked her a few questions about it because she’s published a few collections which are performing well on Amazon.

You can check out Layden Robinson’s work here – https://www.amazon.com/Kindle-Store-Layden-Robinson/s?ie=UTF8&page=1&rh=n%3A133140011%2Cp_27%3ALayden%20Robinson

What attracts you to flash fiction?

I prefer flash fiction because I like big concentration and intensity in a piece, and feel if you lengthen that out into novel form, you loss people

What genre’s do you write?

I write within the genres of Horror, Bizarro, Erotica, Suspense and Elegant Madness.

Do you think that there are genre’s that lend themselves to flash fiction better than others?

I do not feel that a certain genre lends itself to flash fiction better than an other.

When writing flash fiction do you start with a plot, or do you mostly free write?

I sometimes start with a basic plot line, but a lot of times, it is free writing and something comes out of it.

On average how long does it take you to finish a flash fiction?

The pieces usually come together quickly, but then there is the rewriting and editing

Any tips for authors who are trying to write flash fiction?

I try to make things as cohesive as I can, but I also realize that my style is intense, difficult and quite manic. Flash fiction comes easy to me, but if I were to give advice to other writer’ how to write flash fiction, I would tell them to have a basic plot, consume fine drink and let your ideas take you where they are going to take you. Fear nothing, get the idea down and go back later and refine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69603.16
ETH 3748.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75