WHITE TO BLACK : A SHORT STORY

in #writing6 years ago

black and white.png

It was finally here! Yesterday proved to be one very tiring one. I had been with Moses all through the night. He was so excited and full of life, he couldn’t stop chattering. I don’t blame him nonetheless if I were in his shoes, I would chatter away like a chatterbox.
We could barely sleep until 3 am. Soon we were woken up by the damn alarm, it was already 5:30 am, how was that possible? I still don’t know but I sincerely didn’t have time to think about it as we quickly dashed to the bathroom.

I got dressed with ease, as soon as I was done; his room was where I headed. The air quickly froze with such frantic speed as I touched the doorknob, I could not even tell when a smile formed on my face, I was sincerely happy for him.
It was his wedding day, he looked so handsome, we were the last two in our group of friends who were single and I was scared if we would ever get married. His wife Sandra was so lucky to have such a gallant and smart young man.
Everyone was moving around and the house was as busy as a beehive. His dressing took a lot of time, but it was worth it when he was done. He turned to me. “Stanley, how do I look? I was lost at how handsome he looked. That was the very day my Moses was going to be a Mr., I couldn’t have been more proud. We were age mates, 29 years to be precise, we grew up together and he found me fit to be his best man, what an honor.

The wedding was over soon and we gracefully moved to the reception hall. After the whole ceremony, I watched Moses and Sandra drive off in their Lexus jeep. I sincerely felt happy for her, and somewhere in the corner of my mind I wondered, who the heck my best man was going to be now that Moses is married. I traveled back home the next day since I couldn’t leave that day. My compound was unusually cold.
Something didn’t seem right. I quickly got aware that there was no sound of children laughter or cries, no loud noise coming from my neighbor’s non-stop channel, Nickelodeon. There was no nothing. I went to my house but couldn’t bear the loneliness that danced in the atmosphere. So I went outside, to the house of my neighbor whom we were both tenants to inquire why the house was so quiet, it was then I heard that my neighbor and his wife had a serious argument and were getting divorced.

This world never seems to stop amazing me, things and circumstances just change from white to black or from black to white.

Thanks for Reading
Please Upvote and Resteem
Follow @stanleephenom

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.20
ETH 2988.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68