You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Year - Entry to Art Prompt Writing Contest

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Holy @%&/! I wasn't sure what to expect but this is great. It made me feel like I need to start putting more effort into the flow of my stories - I've neglected it a bit lately because I always end up with too much to say for 1000 or 1500 words.

In any case, this was amazing in my opinion. If I had to point out one or two things, it would be your use of words like promenade. Perhaps it works, and in many cases it works great, but careful with them. They can make the whole thing sound unnatural and break your immersion.

That, and the post's title. "New Year" makes it feel like it's, well, a Happy New Year post or something of the sort. Perhaps add "Entry to Art Prompt Writing Contest" or something like that? Just to make it pop out.

Upvoted! And I'm gonna go ahead and resteem it too. May it reach more eyes!

Sort:  

Thanks for reading!

I have that problem too. I struggle to get to the 200-500 but after that it all gains momentum and I end up with 2000+ words before I finish...

Thanks for the advice. I'm aware I tend to go with rather pompous words sometimes, maybe because they're usually closer to Spanish and French (?). I'll try to be more careful. Also, I hadn't thought about the title issue, thanks for that too!

I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

Yup, I like that title much more.

I noticed the thing about the pompous words because I do it a lot (though I do it because I'm pretentious, and I do it in Spanish rather than in English). It can end up happening because of familiarity with other languages.

It's not strictly wrong and it plays into building a style, but you might end up typing "it was an obscure night" rather than "it was a dark night" and stuff like that... But hey, that's what the Block is there for, to help us aspiring artists improve.

yes you are right my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69032.73
ETH 3765.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53