Sometimes It's Hard To Be A Writer

in #writing6 years ago

Sitting down, staring at the computer screen I was determined to write the book that had been rattling around in my head for years. As I put my fingers to the keys on the keyboard I heard music. It was the theme song to the old television show Step By Step. "I haven't seen that show in over ten years," I said to myself. Quickly abandoning the computer to watch television, I made my way to the living room promising that I'd start wring my book another day.

Sometimes It's Hard To Be A Writer

When life is moving all around you it is hard to sit down and dedicate yourself to a writing project. A book can take weeks or even years to complete. It's easy to say you're going to write a great work of art, but actually completing that work can be a challenge. When you take into account the editing process to make your piece perfect, writing something becomes even more time consuming.

With a kid running around playing, a noisy husband, five cats, and four ducks, sometimes writing down my "brilliant" thoughts can be impossible. It takes life being in a specific state for me to be able to write long stories or creative fiction. When life is too lively, I don't have the ability to let my fingers meet computer keys.

Don't Regret Not Writing That Story

Even though it's hard to be a writer, I know that some stories need to be told. Life is short and you shouldn't put off that book rattling around in your brain too long. You never know what's going to happen in life. You never know how long or short your life will be or what events will occur down the road. Sometimes the older you get, the more complicated life gets. It was easier to be a writer back when I was young and unattached. Now that I'm a mother, my brain is constantly focused on my child rather than finishing the book I wish I could write.

I know I'll write that book someday but today is not that day. Life is more complicated and busy these days. I regret not writing the story in my head years ago when I had more time. If I could give any writer advice it would be to write that story you are thinking of when you have the chance.

A post by author @marxrab

steemiteditors-signature.png

Sort:  

It's so important that we tell our stories!!! We never know who or when those stories might impact someone in such a positive way we never imagined!

Your blog "story" did however touch us today! Thank you!

Keep on steeming... and write that story... I think we all want to read it one day!

@sacryptocollect

Thanks for commenting! When we don't share our stories, we risk losing them forever. A simple story can mean the world to someone else. Hopefully, that book will be written someday soon.

It's very true! I'm looking forward to the day that you publish it!

I tell myself the same things over and over, I have time today so why I'm wasting it in useless things (and I mean really useless because I consider my gaming time a productive one.)

If I could give any writer advice it would be to write that story you are thinking of when you have the chance.

It's hard to get your brain to focus to sit and write all the great ideas you have. Video games are so fun and those episodes of Step by Step I watched were classic. Sometimes you have to force yourself to focus rather than play.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61