The power of a chair

in #writing6 years ago

analog-art-beautiful-963486.jpg

The below was written 4 years ago when we were in transition between properties and countries.

The Power of a Chair

Night 2 on a blow up bed. I'd be lying if I said I was enjoying the experience. One thing living this sparsely has reminded me is of how incredibly spoilt I am. It's like a 'double' sized blow up mattress. I'm not convinced. I'm in love with my king-size memory foam mattress. A space so vast you need binoculars to see the other side.

Also, never in your life, never in your life, underestimate the power of a chair.

It's only when you have nothing to sit on do you realise their power to ease ones aching (and ageing) limbs. For the past 2 days and 1 to go, the stairs ascending to our old bedroom have now been entrusted with the sacred task of taking the weight as it were.

And so, with our final night on the crescent in front of us, I'm looking forward to not sleeping on a retarded mix of air and shit springs while simultaneously looking forward to a more 'civilised' way of living.

God only knows what I'd be like if I had to live on the streets. Here I am, effectively moaning about living under a roof with central heating and the love of those I cherish to keep me warm.

Life can be surreal at times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75