Web Site Possibilities

in #writing5 years ago

It is understandable the number of questions I've received regarding why my personal web site is down. It's down for lots of reasons, but hopefully it will be going up in a bit; next week if I can swing it. Maybe even sooner ... The most difficult issue I've been having is which content management system I want to use. I love both dnn as well as Wordpress equally, and another site I have uses the latter, in fact.

The big problem I have with the modern web is how little heed is paid to new standards; every single blogging module for every single content management system out there should support the activityPub standard, for instance. I know that's a tall order, but with enough community members backing the meriads of software stacks out there, I'm sure it can happen. It's not just activityPub, either, that my site would preferrably have. There is also the new pingback standard, as well, called WebMention, that only Known or Wordpress seem to happily support at the moment. All the rest seem not to know what the heck I'm talking about when I mention it. If you read my previous post, called Technical Resolutions for 2019, you'll have discovered that C# is on my list of preferred programming languages to learn. One of the main reasons for that is so that I can assist in bringing the modern web into the modern technical era, so to speak. .NET has some work to be done for that. But this will definitely be fun, that's for sure. But back to the issue at hand. I think I'm going to end up choosing Wordpress, if only for the simplicity of setting things up. Will be running on IIS, though, with ProjectNami with a SQL Server database; not another mySQL Install, please. The way I see it, I have integration with ActivityPub (the fediverse), the Steem blockchain, as well as with the proper standards right there. I'll have to build them into DNN (considering no one seems to want to take me seriously over there about this stuff), and then, thanks to the ease with which comments and posts can be exported from Wordpress, one can simply import into one of the multitude of blogging modules for DNN later on.

Sort:  

Congratulations @stormlighttech! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75