Come, Spend the Night with an Insomniac

in #writing5 years ago

‘Click’… My frightened eyes perch open in a snap panic, but I can’t feel my body. A heaviness infuses my blood and separates my mind from my legs, my arms and my ability to defend what little remains of my conscious ability. ‘Click’ … Frantic glances around the cold dark room do nothing to entice a powerful cry for battle as I prepare to stare my fear into realisation. The echo of the click entraps itself in my mind, prolonging the torment of helplessness.

‘Click’… An internal trigger is pulled, every single one of my cells clad up, unite and transform my lifeless state into a reanimated surrogate. I feel my movements governed by the angriest puppet master I’ve ever met, I can feel its rage dictate my every emotion and my every intention. I know if I stay here too long it will take me, I won’t let it take me.

‘Click’… My hand slams through the wall butted up against my mattress, snapping my wrist and pulling my body to the edge, but that’s not enough. The following collection of seconds that slow to eternity have my teeth grinding and my other arm reaching for the blade I keep by the head of my mattress. My mind is fighting for my freedom, but my master has other plans as ‘click’ the blade rips through the side of my leg. By the will of my hand, I’ve managed to force its projection in the opposite direction – away from my hearth.

‘Click’… Surging in disgust with failure to deliver fatality, I’m launched from my mattress and slammed head first in to the cold concrete floor. As I lay there, the memory of seeing my friend taken so casually floods into recall like a Tsunami of reckless havoc devastating a peaceful slumbering village. I watched it all, through a haze of cries and a veil of tears. The rope, the trunk, the screeches, the scene was so small and distant, but it played in my mind like a kaleidoscope theatre, as if it was happening all over again in real time. No matter how fast my legs move, they can’t move fast enough across the rice field. My shouts ricocheting off her screams and their movements like cold hale on a closed window.

‘Click’… I’m awake now, I’m in control. I lay broken, unmoving and bleeding. ‘Click, click, click’… I stare at the pilot light on my radio through the reflection on my wrist watch, its monotonous never-ending melody soothes me into freedom. My bloody breath returns to pace and the searing pain starts to creep in. I may be broken, but I’m free, I’m not helpless.

“Ugh!” Tossing and turning, I know I need this sleep. I curl into a ball and try once more…

‘Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeee’… The smell of smouldering smoke gently billowing through the passenger’s side of the car wakes me from my sudden sleep. I’m pinned to the wheel, my ears are ringing but I can still hear in the background the car alarm beckoning me to move quickly. I can’t move, the wriggling makes it harder. From the corner of my eye I see movement. I know in the back of my mind, I’ve been here before. The people, the place, the car, the situation. Something in my core persuades me to give in, the scene goes dark and I can finally sleep in the arms of eternity.

** Stuff's gotta sleep!

Image Source

Sort:  

Wow, that was #dark. You suffer, or are you just trying to get into their headspace?
I used to struggle a bit, rarely; but haven't for a long time. Plenty of sympathy for those who do.
Never completely asleep, never totally awake. Ugh.

Well howdy Matt! No I’m not an insomniac, but I imagine a frightful version would be something like this. My insomnia should it occur, will revolve around something exciting or happy. Sleep is amaaaazing I’m glad you don’t have trouble anymore.

Hi @stuffing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.234 which ranks you at #8247 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 71 places in the last three days (old rank 8176).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 202 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Dark but expertly written. Keep it up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you Shaidon :)

You're welcome!

Congratulations @stuffing! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @stuffing! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61511.66
ETH 2989.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63