Physicality of writing

in #writing5 years ago

hands-1373363_1920.jpg
Typing out your drafts in a text editor allows you to insert whole lines where you need to add more detail. You can be notified of spelling errors and bad grammar on the fly and go back and fix it. It's easy to delete mistakes and when you're done, it's easy to send off to wherever you publish. Text editors are pretty sweet.

Why, then, do some people still like to write in physical notebooks?

I like to write everything in Moleskine journals, so maybe I might be give a few reasons why you might like to try it too.

First, I like the physical feeling of having a book in my hands. For years I thought that once e-readers became common I would never need another physical book, and would carry all my library around in my pocket. But after my first year in college I found that reading digital was much harder for me to retain. I found that in reading a physical book I gained advantages over a pdf or kindle. First was the ability to retrieve the information physically. I noticed that it wasn't just the words that were sticking in my mind, but details about where the words were in the book. If I needed to reference those sections and had not made note of them, I could find them by which side of the leaf they were on, how thick the pages behind the page in question were, and a rough idea of it's place on the page. When trying to do the same thing in pdf or on my kindle, the extra details were lost and I would spend too much time trying to hunt for information I needed. I found being able to take notes next to my book or compare entries in multiple books was also an advantage of a physical book.

But what does this have to do with writing? Well, being able to reference details I had previously written benefitted from that same type of on-page memory. If I'd been writing for a while and forgotten something I'd written an hour before, I could quickly find it by looking at one position on the book and flipping pages until it came into view.

Secondly, the limitations of a book are part of what helps focus my writing. With a laptop or desktop, when I sit down to create, the temptation of distraction is sometimes overwhelming for me. If detail is uncertain, I like to look it up when I'm on a computer. I've spent whole afternoons following link after link on wikipedia, forums, and other random links returned in a google search. When writing with a pen on paper, it's an extra step for me to look things up, and that discourages me from breaking my flow. I can always look up details after my draft is written. On paper there are no chat programs, no video games, no Facebook, and no google.

Thirdly, I can doodle when I'm stuck. This seems minor, but doodling is a good way to get your brain working again. I can't say why it is. Maybe it's putting something on a blank page, that gets you started. Or maybe it's allowing your brain to wander around whatever patterns you doodle that frees up you creativity. I don't know but it's an important part of writing for me.

Next, writing by hand slows me down. That sounds like a bad thing, right? When I'm on a keyboard, I can write at 60-70 words per minute. Hardly the fastest typist, but it's fast enough that I can only think ahead a word or two while I'm typing and this causes me to stop and start a lot when I can't stop myself from editing as I write. When I'm writing by hand, I'm writing much slower, maybe 25 words per minute, maybe less. But that extra time between letters and words allows me further ahead as I write. I am able to change plot points or create new scenes on the fly while I write.

And lastly, as I've hinted at throughout this post, I can't stop and edit so much. Instead I go forward with writing. I document my thinking and changing mind. I leave notes to myself in the margins while I'm reading through it, and then keep going. Later when I'm transcribing my writing I can follow my thought process and expand where I need to, cut where I want, and re-arrange with the power of hindsight.

(Side note: Have you ever noticed that nobody in stock photos knows how to write? They all start in the middle of a blank page.)

Do you prefer to write digitally, or physically? Why? Leave a note below.

Sort:  

But after my first year in college I found that reading digital was much harder for me to retain.

And what about testing now new interactive digital books to help you out with the retention and the ability to quickly find and reference sections and make as many notes as you want in order that all the words in the book stick easier in your mind, etc.?

When trying to do the same thing in pdf or on my kindle, the extra details were lost and I would spend too much time trying to hunt for information I needed.

Yeah! actually there are a handful more you would like to check 'em out.

Thirdly, I can doodle when I'm stuck. This seems minor, but doodling is a good way to get your brain working again.

Oh! then, you could also try add some ZappAR to your doodles and multiply memory & retention ten fold. I bet you'll love it!! LoL

Cheers!! :)

Cool, thanks for the links. I've tried a number of interactive book formats. And I've no doubt that the videos and hyperlinks help some people, but I don't think it's for me. While exploring the Egypt book you linked, I kept finding myself trying to come up with counters, but the truth is it's not interesting to me. Even though the subject is interesting, I kept skimming over the text, clicking videos and then scrolling, playing a video and reading. It would probably be better with some training, but for me, dead tree books are not a problem.

I've played with ZappAR before (some lego packs I bought came with some scannable codes), but the idea of comics and picture books makes much more sense than how I've seen it used. This is something I'd like to see played around with a bit more.
IMG_0716.JPG
Me about to eat a Scooby Snack in 2016 via ZappAR

Congratulations @tabyington! You have received a vote as a way to thank you for supporting my program.

@tabyington, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

Congratulations @tabyington! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Cool! Thank you board bot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54