Mistress of Magic: Morgan's First Apprentice - Some Decisions and Introduction

in #writing6 years ago

To serialize or not to serialize, I asked you. The answer was an overwhelming YES. So the Mistress returns, under the account name @mistress that was (for some reason still) open for registration.

Where

I considered posting the chapters on @mistress and resteeming for visibility to my 1500 followers (woohoo!) on this account (@techslut). The idea was to separate my random blogging from the book to keep things organized. But then I realized that would mean managing a whole other account in addition to mine. Rewards, replies, curation... That seems like a huge headache I rather not have. In addition, this account is auto-voted by a number of my steemit friends, so while the payouts are not the main issue, the extra exposure from those upvotes can help attract new readers from the very start. So I decided to post the chapters on @techslut and resteem them to @mistress so people looking for the book won't have to sift through my rants and random photos.

How often

I currently have a number of chapters in my latest draft, but my (very inaccurate) calculations suggest that I can't write at a pace of more than a chapter a week if I want it to be anywhere close to my standards of text worth sharing. I am not sure what day of the week is best, so unless I get other recommendations, I will publish a chapter every Saturday night (local time).

Previously posted content

One of the main reasons I can't resume posting where I left off a little over a year ago is that I've re-written a lot of the draft. I considered declining rewards or donating some of the payouts to avoid double-dipping in the reward pool but the goal is to make enough on steemit to be able to focus on my writing. As much as I hate to be greedy, I am going to keep the rewards. However, I am not a cheater, so if cheeta decides a chapter is too similar to one previously posted, 100% of the payout will be donated to @steemcleaners and @minnowsupport . Though I seriously doubt that will happen.

Introduction

Mistress of Magic: Morgan's First Apprentice is a first book in a series taking place in a world of magic, sex and secrets. It draws inspiration from some very weird childhood fantasies of mine, mixed in with many years of RPGs, fantasy books and a kinky lifestyle.

What brought me to start writing was actually an attempt to read Fifty Shades. As someone who sees herself as part of the BDSM community, I found that book downright offensive. I criticized it on any platform and publication that would let me, but still felt like the world deserved better. At the same time, I read about some seriously ridiculous erotic fantasy books making ridiculous sums of money on Amazon. 

That did it. I decided to sit down and turn the scenes in my mind into text. At first, words rained from my fingertips into the file, filling it at an impressive pace. The problem started when life began to get in the way of writing. Work, family and self-care took precedence over investment of time in an art that didn't yet pay the bills. Now, steemit (that's you) can prevent that from happening, and keep me in the green with the bank.

So now what?

The first chapter will be posted on Saturday, but I think I would like to do more than just post chapters. My little avatar drawing contest exploded into an art extravaganza and I got to reward some amazing work. Odds are, I will do the same with the @mistress . How awesome would it be if the book had crowdsourced illustrations and a theme song? Pretty damn awesome.

"May the wisdom of Goddesses of Old guide us into the Age of New."

Sort:  

very interesting forecast!)
I will wait for Saturday to start reading) the topic is very unusual and full of subtones, readers will be sticked to it I am sure) and it's a nice idea to resteem the chapters to a separate account!
I had a dream to write a book about my love stories as well) And some days ago I remembered about it and had a though to write it here for Steemians... don't know exactly if it's worth it...
To start is the most difficlut, in your head you have it all very bright and vivid but to put it in text isn't so easy often, but when you have started, hands will catch this writing passion and the progress will be!
I hope I will be inspired by your book)

Interesting! Since I love novels, I think I'll be following you from here on ( not as a stalker mind you xP ).

Enjoy the vote and reward! Mutual Upvote you :) Follow and Upvote you.
Welcome ! Thank you .

Good beautyful

I'm waiting. Good luck

The idea of doing illustrations is a really good thought. Would set you apart from other fiction chapters happening on Steemit.

Drawing is like making an expressive gesture with the advantage of permanence.

Sounds promising. As an erotica writer myself, I am always interested in reading more erotica, so looking forward to Chapter 1!

We will follow and read your book chapters.
The best thing about the site is to follow up on some of the book and read what they publish stories and novels
I'm waiting on Saturday, God willing

I think it will be interesting. Are you familiar with the author Chuck Palanik? He has some works with a similar theme. I like this writer. I hope I will be able to follow your book. I would be quite interested to get acquainted with your creativity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66952.44
ETH 3091.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72