How to Beat the First -Year of your Work Slump ?

in #writing6 years ago

Hi, Steemians

stress-800x500.jpg
Image Source

The year has just started and you're already feeling a bit down in the employment dumps. Consider this March a fresh start, and let your career take off starting next month by heading this tips that I recommend based on my experience for being a School Administrator before for seven years.

Travel alone for at least Two weeks.

el_nido_boat_lady-56a40d4d5f9b58b7d0d528d4.jpg
Image Source

  • When you travel you get to meet new people. It can help you open up and see what else is out there, what others are doing. You will come back with a new perspective or even discover something new about yourself. You can also pursue a hobby or an interest you have always had in the past. But to take it up a notch, learn something that is completely out of character, even something you think will be very difficult for you to accomplish. When you become successful at something very challenging, your thought process will change.

Take some time off

000000060.jpg
Image Source

  • And use this chill time to re-energize, re-evaluate yourself and reset your priorities and goals. With your renewed self, you'll be armed to face both old and new challenges again. When I recently went on an out of town trip, I was experiencing tough times at work.That time off proves really good to me. I was able to take a step back and think about what I was doing wrong and plan what I wanted to do with my life and career. After that weekend, things were so much better at work. Not happily ever after, but better.

Deal with the most controllable factor first - Yourself!

200241109-001.jpg
Image Source

  • I learned that I cannot control office politics, nor how people deal with me. But first, I have to be determined to fix myself, as my attitude towards situations counts a lot. So I usually indulge in something different, like pampering myself in a salon, reading a book, cleaning the clutter. When I do these ( I am able to take ) my mind off the things makes me feel down. Doing something different recharges my emotional and mental well being. Simply put, I take care of myself immediately once I detect I am sliding into that slump.

Identify the reason for feeling that slump.

382535_399310290125401_1676261342_n.jpg
Image Source

  • If you still like your job but just feel cramped in the four corners of your office, go out and meet people in the same field that you are in. Networking can lead to opportunities that will not only enhance your skills further, but it can also give you a different perspective on your career. It will re-ignite your fire. If its alright with your present ( employer) you can even start taking consulting jobs.

Take up Business Courses Seminars or Short Courses.

3-IFPY.jpg
Image Source

  • related to your job to keep you up to date with industry trends and to show your boss you are 100 % invested in your career and development.

Break the Routine

culinary-hero.jpg
Image Source

  • If you've been doing an 8 to 5 job for years ( and you feel that you're stuck), then its time to learn something new, like cooking or painting or even a new language. Do something fulfilling to help you feel more productive. It may be hard to take the first step, but you have to push yourself because the result is something that will change you, and change is good. Set realistic goals and step by step, do something to make them happen.

Assess what you really want.

stock-photo-asian-business-lady-filling-her-planner-755165074.jpg
Image Source

  • My advice to women who are struggling with work is this: If you can see yourself happy ( most of the time at least ) doing a job for the next 10 years, then its probably worth pursuing. Otherwise, find your bliss elsewhere. Check your life priorities and interest vis-a-vis your career path. See if the career you have coincides with what you are, what you want and what excites you.

Resilience is vital. ( When things go tough ), adopt the mantra '' I am bigger than the things that annoy me and this too shall pass,''

images.jpg
Image Source

  • And then work becomes a little bit more bearable. If a job is too difficult to bear, find your Inner Resilience. There is nothing more disappointing in life than giving up easily without a fight.

Be willing to move laterally. Sometimes the way up is sideways.

female-board.jpg
Image Source

  • It shows your willingness to learn and gives you the opportunity to acquire new skills. You'll know more about the company and be able to appreciate its organized dynamics. It's a good way to see the bigger picture and help you decide if your career path really lies within the company.

Don't let your colleagues know what you're unmotivated.

810730028.jpg
Image Source

  • Look for a mentor ( with whom you can share your job frustrations, someone who you can trust ) Don't let your work slide, even if you're no longer interested in your job. Should you decide to move on, it's important not to burn the bridge.

elegant-businesswoman-holding-a-clipboard_1098-3344.jpg
Image Source

From now on, learn not to take things personally.

When I was younger, Every case was personal

Every error magnified , Every disappointment a personal failure

Years later, I learned that it was all in a day's work

Best Regards,
@thefairlady

Thank you for reading Steemians ...... until next time... Salamat ka.ayo <3

I am excited to hear your thoughts just comment down below...

Sort:  

Wonderful post! I think one of the most important notes you have given is to look for a mentor . During my OJT, it was really difficult for me to adjust with the environment,even more difficult since I am the only one whom they hired as a trainee. What helped me cope up with the office environment is my mentor, who shared her knowledge not only about engineering but on how to make friends with my co workers. It was really difficult at first but it became easier when you have someone to talk to (in the office or outside work). Thanks for sharing . :)

Thank you for reading my post @reewritestthings. Yes! I agree with you having a mentor is really a great Idea. since they are always there to guide and support us. eventually we can cope up and we can deal the challenges by our own. Lets keep on Steeming :)

I definitely agree!

@thefairlady I super agree dwlaw it's yourself. And yes I'll take a break to get fresh perspectives. Thanks

Thank you ate @gratefulayn . I hope we will have a break together with @iamqueenlevita, to get some fresh perspectives.. hahahahahahahahah. I miss you ate <3

Great post! Thank you ma'am for a great ideas.I agree with you. We need to boost our self for us to grow more.

Thank you @junababatuon for reading my post. I hope it will give you some ideas to improve you and make you a better version of yourself !.. let's keep on steeming..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64