You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A scene in a restaurant [EN/ES]

in #writing5 years ago

Again, a very self-evident (that's good that people can understand the implicit messages) prompt that I don't have to dig into. I like that, because I don't want things to stretch a mile long and be an inch deep; I want an inch of content but it being a mile deep. (Or to truly say: I don't want shallow things that pretend to be deep, I want understandable things to have layers of complexity that can be approached as the reader thinks about the story.) Otherwise, I don't know what the story is retelling/reinterpreting... though Jester... Jevil?... No probably a coincidence per chance of names. Albeit I find it funny that 'twas not Gabriel that told them that, but the Jester in Heaven. Hue.

Upvot'd and resteem'd.
Jevil.gif

Sort:  

I don't believe in coincidences. Actually, when I wrote this story I was thinking of a more mundane name for God. Something approachable, but not too approachable. Suddenly this idea came to my mind: what will be the role of God in, say, the court of a King? Maybe the King itself? No, too protagonic. An advisor, maybe? The head of the army? No, too many earthly occupations. Then I thought he would be the Jester. Providing humor, yes, but also silently observing the matters of the court unravel... Artists have a reputation for being empathic and good on reading people, so I imagine the Jester was, curiously, the most informed member of the court, while still choosing the affairs of the soul - Dancing, singing, telling stories. Never meddling in wars, or economy... Having the power and the knowledge, but choosing to spin around merrily. Maybe some will call this "negligence" evil... Hence, Jevil will also be a fitting name for this God of mine...

I nae believe in coincidences either. I believe contingent events form in the overlap of the Laws of Necessities, yet still have as relevant of an impact on matters. Eitherwise, my Jevil is fun and can do anything!

9BD53547-A6C4-42F5-9527-7A75C3BF4AE0.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63042.71
ETH 3175.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81