You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on a writer's vocabulary contest - 5 SBI shares to one winner

in #writing5 years ago

- "In lieu" -


Definition:


To substitute/replace SOMETHING with another thing

Etymology:


Lieu originates from the Latin "locus" meaning place

Usage:


Semi-common to semi-rare* (dependent on the area*)

- Example -


You'd be surprised by this entry that I used this word in lieu of other words. So much, in fact, that in lieu of choosing this entry, you might choose another one. So much so because, in lieu of a proper example, I decided to be annoying about it. So, in lieu of a serious comment, I shall have fun. Why? Because I wish writers use this word in lieu of using instead; also I find this more encompassing and, hypocritically, more fun to say. In lieu of ending an entry properly, I decided to end it now in lieu of flashy stuff.

Flyin' by!.gif

Sort:  

where do you get your gifs? mine never move!

Okay, press “edit” when yah see yer comment, look at the html of the gif, turn “GIF” to “gif” in all cases, right-click it, save it (delete old GIF as to save this pure, good gif) and blamo.

60C49938-A2BC-404D-A890-B3216915706D.gif

I inserted mine using the little GIF button on Steemit. When I edit it there are only gifs already. NO GIFS. So I guess the lesson is, don't use the GIF button.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84