What is writing for me. Lessons from my month long hiatus.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I don't ever remember myself sitting down, on my own will, and writing in an effective manner. I say on my own will, because on other people's standards, I might have written effectively at some point in my life and it is until very recently that I have decided to write on my own accord. Somebody would ask here.

''What is an effective manner in the first place?''.

To which I would reply ''That's a really good question!''.

To be honest, this is a vague term for me to understand. I am still pretty new into sitting down, formulating my thoughts, writing them and sharing them in public. I preferred and still find oral communication as the best mean to really exchange views and opinions. In oral communication, truly some things are imparted much more easily than writing. That said I also believe in more, higher forms of communication apart from oral or written, I hope I can discuss about this at some point.

However, recently I came to realise the importance of writing as well. ''Verba volant, scripta manent'' says a Latin proverb (spoken words fly away, written words remain).
While I don't agree with the first half of the phrase, I find the second half quite meaningful for me.
Since I started, I realised that writing is the anchor that I drop into the sea of my mind. It is my stable point of reference, not one that I feel captured by, yet one that allows me to reflect. It is the point around which my thoughts revolve and transform. It is a way to look at myself, a mirror for me. In the end it is also my attempt to fulfil one of the most deep needs of every human being. The need to communicate.

Every one of us who is commited to writing, whether he does it as an occupation, a hobby, a process of healing or anything else, has his own goals and aspirations, his own times and seasons and his own unique approach. After all this is the crux of it all. Since we are all unique we are called to express it whenever something worthy and good comes out of it. Certainly it is not our goal, nor it is desirable to affirm it in every step, because that would presuppose that we don't have faith in our own uniqueness as human persons, yet it is our duty to stand firm in our true unique expression.

In writing there is no room for copying or doing something other apart from your own will and conscience. No room for letting others dictate what you do and how.
In writing there is freedom and this freedom we are called to affirm and express, always with love and discernment.
In writing there is truly commitment. You commit a part of yourself and you are leaving an imprint of it. You cannot take this back. This stays.

Back in the initial question, what does it mean to be effective in writing in the end?

I believe that this is highly subjective.

For some it is the amount of work that they produce in any given time. Others think about meeting their deadlines. There are people who aim at relevance and exposure and others who consider discipline to their goals as their measure of success. For most it is the ability to be understood and the ability to communicate.

For me to be effective in writing is staying true to myself. It is mostly to keep clean the mirror that I have set in front of me. To communicate my thoughts, aspirations, concerns and remarks. To be able to give and receive.
It is about keeping track of the road that I have walked so far.
For me writing, is truly freedom.

This is writing for me.
What are you writing for?

I hope you all find the meaning of why you write and keep it always with you. That is the whole essence of it in the end.

God bless!

Sort:  

It is a very nice article about your thoughts! Add a picture to the article otherwise nobody will notice it :(

Thanks @hanen! Truth is I couldn't find any pic to add here so I left this intentionally blank. Next time I'll try and add more pics to make it more appealing to the eye.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55