A PHOBIA

in #writing5 years ago

I am scared of the dark. I’ve been scared of the dark since I was a little boy. Just couldn’t overcome it. I am just no strong enough I guess. I have to sleep with lights on, I avoid getting out in the night. Never had the will to fight it. It’s not like I go full panic mode the moment lights go off. It’s just a feeling of dread and creepiness that crawls all over me in the dark. I feels like it’s going to eat me alive and I won’t feel a thing. Imagine getting yourself fade away into nothing and not being able to even feel it happen. Just horrible. Well, sure, it sounds pretty dramatic and comical but it’s just how I feel. I have talked with some professionals, shrinks and whatnot. But they all prescribe the same cure: “FACE YOU FEARS.” If only it were that easy.

Now, I am not some kind of pussy or anything. No. I mean, I have done some pretty daring stuff in my life. I once jumped off an speeding bus, my friends dared me to. It was quite ballsy I think and stupid too. The point being I am not afraid to face anything consider it a character trait of mine. But this darkness gets me. Oh boy, it changes me. I have tried to fight it though. I once locked myself in my bedroom without any light bulbs. It was pitch dark and I was literally trembling with fear. I gave up after five minutes or so and it gave me nightmares for nights to come.

.......................................................................................................................

Hi, folks! I am working on a new story and this just a glimpse of it. Thought i would just share a piece and see how it goes. Will update the whole thing soon enough. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations @thinkhard! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blowingwind from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello @thinkhard! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @thinkhard! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57019.68
ETH 2888.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61