Reservation For One

in #writing7 years ago

Reservation for One

My table overlooks the misty bay, and I watch the horizon with
Intensity as a temporary derailment of my nervous notions.
Evidence of my second glass of Cabernet is scant, so I tip the
Bottle gently in a lethargic motion... coloring the moment red.
Out of element with my surroundings and even my attire,
I fidget with the hem of my fine linen napkin and notice the
Magical tendrils of light swirling from the chandelier that dangles
A bit too majestically from the center of the main dining room.
I am a castaway dreamer trapped within this surrealism of high
Manners and false bravado; they roar inside my head alongside
The distant clinking of silverware and over-polished laughter.
Caught up in the intense fantasy of what the couple directly to
My right is suddenly sparring about, I partially miss my mouth
Letting a drop of wine ceremoniously roll down the length of my chin.
I blot and discreetly survey the proximity only to find you striding
Towards me, hand outstretched and grin not completely disguised.
Your genial nod to the waiter informs me that we need not linger,
And the clamoring nonsense of proper society quickly begins to fade.
I slip my hand in yours as you whisper a truth that I have waited six
Lifetimes to hear; tonight you are a stranger to me merely by name.

Copyright 2014 Tina Jordan All Rights Reserved

rose-1024710_1280.jpg

Photo public domain via pixabay

Order Red Veil on Amazon http://amzn.to/2gJsPOA

Sort:  

Oh, I am glad you commented on my piece as I've come to see who you are and I'm loving your style -- this is really great. <3

I'm sharing this also.

*Following you now. Thank you.

Thanks so much! I write mostly from my dreams (the dreams while I'm sleeping). Following you as well! <3

I also write from dreams. ;)

You are Talented!

I actually just started a little podcast (via yt) on the subject of dreams, dreaming, and dreamers. My co-host and I interview one person every Wednesday (6pm my time which is pacific time). Tonight is our third show, we are still ironing out the bugs (technical difficulties). Feel free to drop in if you like as we do it live and then post it, as is, after. It's called Nox Mente (night mind in latin).
<3

Sounds great... and I will definitely check it out once my home life settles... (partner with dementia) Take care and I'm glad we connected! .... by the way, you're very talented!

No problem, just thought I'd throw it out there. Real life comes first.

Caring for people with Dementia is a full time situation, I am sorry that is happening.

Very pleased to meet you, writers are a special sort (lol).

Abiento.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61