A Day at the Museum D'Orsay -- Traveling Through Paintings #15

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

Welcome on a tour through one of the most amazing art exhibitions in Paris!

 
Actually, there are almost too many museums to count there; and if you are fortunate to visit Paris one day you should plan plenty of time for discovering the world of art!

The museum I am inviting you to today is Museé d'Orsay 😊

Museé d'Orsay resides in a very large hall which was originally a train station. Now it is rebuilt into a museum and houses one of the most famous paintings from Van Gogh to Monet and Renoir (just to name a few), but houses also statues and several intriguing art collections.

Come walk with me as we travel through the many paintings 👩‍🌾


I could make out a restaurant at the other side of the street and I suddenly felt how hungry I had become. My stomach demanded that I should have a look...

When I opened the door I could immediately hear the loud music and singing voices. A smokey air permeated the large hall in which I could make out a richly decorated stage partially veiled in long red curtains. Almost every seat was taken and the people moved and danced, intermingled and shared each other's glasses. I almost felt like in a sea with waves of music and people churning around, bouncing off tables and walls.

In the midst of all this I tried to find a way leading through this fray and to a more quiet corner in which I saw a woman sitting alone drinking a glass of wine. She did not seem as drunk as the other guests and so I asked her where she was from.

Im-1.jpg

Our conversation was more enlightened than what I had expected and she told me that she was born in this city and had come here to relax from a rather stressful day. It would not have been my choice of place to relax, but then I hadn't really stayed long enough to develop a feeling of appreciation.

I had ordered a drink and made myself as comfortable as I could on this wooden chair and as I sipped from my drink I watched as the people moved and frolicked about. The woman next to me had moved to mix with the crowd and so I was left with a feeling of curiosity.

Watching people is like watching yourself. You can learn a lot from observing and listening. But most people rather like to swim in the water and not watch people swimming so to speak.

All of a sudden a loud voice made a hopeless attempt to drown out the many other voices. And shortly after I could hear a drum which was getting louder and louder. The people slowly shifted their attention to the source of this sound and began to settle down a bit. A play was about to start.

Continue here...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98