You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Apolymask short story.

in #writing6 years ago

This is a fucking awesome story mate. I'm sure anyone who knows you will recognise that you've put a lot of yourself into the Apollo character. I see the alien creature and the battle as a metaphor for conquering your own fear, rediscovering your true power, fulfilling your potential and finding the strength and courage you need to fight the ultimate fight.

I loved the way the the words and story seemed to fall onto the page, sonething I enjoy about all of your writing. I haveva tendency to overthink things and it stops me from getting any thoughts out at all, which is why I think I enjoy reading your posts so much. It's almost like your writing the post as I'm reading it. :)

It was a really enjoyable read mate and you built up the suspense nicely. I look forward to the next one. :)

Sort:  

Thanks man! That was some awesome feedback from someone who I consider to be a pretty awesome artist and person in general.

Indeed, and I also see this story as a similar metaphor! It reminds me oddly enough of a Naruto episode that I really vibed with where Naruto had to fight a shadow version of himself that was like.. Equally as strong as him or stronger and knew all his moves in advance and.. Eventually.. The way he ended up winning was "hugging" and loving his shadow self.

To me this story was very similar, and also akin to a quote from one of my favorite books Ender's game where he mentions something to the effect that when he destroys his enemies he is loving them, and that you have to sort of get inside the mind of your opponent and love them like you love yourself so that you can see what their motivations really are. And when you see that, it should hopefully give you the answer in how to win the battle.

So this story definitely played off those ideas a bit.. That you have to sort of, love you dark side in order to defeat it.

I think this plays off in regards to our spiritual battle with the corrupt elite in the world.. You have to sorta get in their mind and shoes and think what they think without becoming a "monster" yourself so to speak.

And.. In this story I perhaps failed a lil bit cause I wasn't a perfect peaceful Ghandi type, but I still believe in self defense. I think that's important in this world.. I often say.. I'm not a pacifist, I'll pass a fist if necessary. And hopefully always for the right reason either in the defense of myself or others.

Hey thanks for the nice words about my writing, I feel similar about yours! I think that's one reason I vibe with you a lot cause when I read your words I almost feel like I'm reading myself sometimes.. So thank you, though I think you're an awesome writer too. :)

Glad to hear you're looking forward to the next one! Now I am even more so as well! :D I already have an idea for how it might start.. Anyways.. Hope all is well bud!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98