You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A MUST READ! Why forcing yourself to write too much is counterproductive

in #writing6 years ago

This is very true.
For my fiction works, I'm doing my real work well ahead of my schedule for publishing on Steemit - simply for that reason! I don't want the pressure last minute. I also make myself take Sundays off - I'm only allowed to read and (maybe) fix minor typos or take notes.

I also don't force myself if it's simply not flowing - or I shift gears and work on a different piece - or do some editing or map-making for awhile. Or I work on my update post, or get next week's posts queued up. There's always something to do, so I don't have to feel useless if the words aren't writing today - there's always tomorrow (and then, yesterday, I wrote 5000 words at the end of my developing novella, bringing it to editing mode - so, today, I can relax more.)

BTW, I've found that the best way of proofreading one's own work is to read it aloud. Somehow, that gets past the auto-correct mode in the brain. It also tells you whether your words flow correctly or if one of your made-up towns needs an adjustment to the name - that happened to me recently - I had to quickly make an adjustment to the spelling/pronunciation of the town to make it easier to say.

Just my 0.02 SBD on that. :-)

Sort:  

Glad you recognized and fought against the writing pressure so well. That are some very well organised ways of going about this issue.

That is a great idea, havent thought about that tbh. Will try doing it from now on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62498.25
ETH 3177.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79