Do We REALLY Care About Giving Up Our Privacy?

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

The last few days have been riddled with new stories about the leaks and dumps of data from various devices and websites. Plenty of outlets are indignant with rage, while others, smugly deride the “other” device that was guilty of letting the breach happen, safe in the knowledge that their own preferred product has kept them safe. That said, at the end of the day, most reasonable people will admit that we’ve all accepted the EUL’s that permit these kind of things, and know that at any time our data is on the block for the highest bidder.

So, should we be up in arms? Are we complicit in our own exposure? Is it even worth it to take steps to protect ourselves?

image
image @writesbackwards is a group of friends who love to write about life, sports, comedy, tech and other fun stuff!

Please, take a look at some of our recent posts and give us a follow!

Sort:  

"So, should we be up in arms? Are we complicit in our own exposure? Is it even worth it to take steps to protect ourselves?"

Yes, everyone should be pissed
Yes, we are complicit, complacent, blinded by convenience
Yes, it is unequivocally worth it to protect yourself

but as others have said, how do you get the masses to want to make a change, if the revelations of facebook and google over the past week haven't inspired a mass revolt to data collection and sales ... I guess it will take something much worse happening to get people moving.

When anyone tells me "I don't have anything to hide" I ask them.
would they want the world knowing that they have cancer? or HIV?
what are they going to do when society (those in power) says that X,Y,Z traits or beliefs are no longer accepted

your info is out there you have a right to your privacy and you have a right to decide who knows what about you and when AND you definitely have a right be profit from your data.

But yes, we all signed EUL/A's that gives away our data at the cost of some shit services that tells everyone when I am single or in a relationship.

I for one am driving to take my data back and limit my footprint. I can control what I do, I can only inform you of what is happening and what you can do, but YOU must be the one that takes action.

I totally agree with you! For the first time in my life, my steemit account was phished just last month, after being here for just 11 days and I was damn pissed for being a victim and one thing that scare me most is what else has been 'taken' from me? The few dollars is not of much concern but what about my other private data in my phone? Now, I am more cautious in what to keep in my private storage and what more to the public cloud backup!
At the end of the day, we are responsible for our own data and I don't believe that there is such thing as "I have nothing to hide" for anyone...

sorry for the double entry.. my line is darn slow and ended up with the double comment... apology again

Hell yeah. I completely stopped using the internet as me years ago when Snowden published government documents showing they want my data. That was good enough for me. They can't have it.

If I were to see papers saying the government wants my toenail clippings, I would carefully collect and burn them.

The government can have my vote when they do well. The cannot have anything else as long as they are flying around in jets molesting kids or paying masked men to kill civilians in other countries to force the use of the dollar there. Bye-bye dollar. Your days are numbered.

Thanks for sharing your insights about it. Privacy is definitely a critical matter on our personal life. We should take care of it.

the people only worried about their privacy if they are doing bad intentions, if you're a good man why worry? that's the whole purpose of decentralized platform to make it transparent and trustless society without compromising your private data, but in terms of facebook they exploiting their data customers through centralized data and that is their biggest mistake.

I liked .. wonderful words from you
And excess confidence is not good for us
Thanks for sharing

I think we shouldn't do anything violation of privacy is a crime and there should be serious restrictions about this matter yet this violation continues for almost a decate now

FollowBack every day 100%

Leaving comments asking for votes, follows, or other self promotional messages could be seen as spam.

Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment!

Thank You! ⚜

Thanks for fighting the good fight! Good luck and Steem on!

Let us just be honest, the Most users don't care about privacy!Most Users Just jump on the next trendy train without considering what is done with their privat data. That is how the world ist running at the moment

I think it's related to the fact that people can't think of everything at the same time. Either all of humanity has to uphold privacy together like a mother clutches a child or there will always be a few good men who "go overboard" and negotiate away their privacy for trifles, but the real world doesn't really have much privacy, especially for young people (for good reason, sometimes). So people grow up without privacy and don't really see the value in it, or why it should be considered in day-to-day life. Then add on the obscure and technical nature (to most)of the internet and the magic behind it's curtain. Add on the fact that trendy things make people feel safe, making many falsely perceive security and trust in something that is familiar and has a facade of transparency, like a company would have in an advertisement.

Anyway, with a few more serious breaches of trust from tech giant, this might change. But, I'm not sure if people even realize what they are fighting for. Do they want privacy for privacy's sake, or as a matter of principal? Or do they want to rightfully retain the right to sell their own info, or at least get a cut from the sale to third parties? Or are they afraid of a Orwellian scenario(I think everyone is at some level)? Or are they just jealous of corporations making billions and want to criticize someone above them to feel better about themselves?

But, I'm not sure if people even realize what they are fighting for

This is the question it comes down to.There are a lot of good reason for the individual to keep his data privat, but actually nobody know these reasons.

I have accepted it, in fact I accepted it a while ago when I signed up with Amazon, pre ordered alexa, and put information on the internet....however

I do think cryptocurrency, bitcoin, and blockchain will eventually solve many of these privacy issues

Hopefully it will, although by that time we may be too far down that rabbit hole...

I think it gets more and more complicated to take care over his personal data as we are transferring our daily life into the internet.

Nice post on privacy issues.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65