GOD IN THE BLOCKCHAIN

in #writing6 years ago

Some guy just invented a religion based on blockchain. Because of course he did.

The idea, in predicable new-tech fashion, is that a religion based on blockchain will by its very nature be more democratic and not be controlled by a high pontiff or council of elders or pointy-hatted cleric who tells everyone else what to believe and how to believe it. Faith will be fluid, communal and changeable.

Got holy texts? Well, they might be holy, but in this religion they sure won’t be sacred. Followers will be able to alter, add, edit, debate and re-evaluate what the hell they are actually believing in as they practice it. If there is too much disagreement, the blockchain will fork into separate and distinct sects.

This was initiated by a dude named Matt Liston, who had a contentious ousting from his former position as CEO of a prediction platform called AUGUR. This new “religion” he has come up with is called 0xΩ, which…well, fuck this guy.

As a social experiment, this is fine, I guess, but I get the feeling Liston is taking this seriously. I’m not really sure what the point here is. The whole idea of organized religion is believing in a greater power, and once you believe in that, it follows that a representation of that power be manifested in a single figure, or serval select figures. Basically, religion is for people who like to be told what to do…but not by other people, by God(s).

So, other than re-inventing reddit, I’m not sure what the hell this thing is supposed to prove. What do you think?

Sort:  

Wow. I actually thought you were just writing funny stuf... until I checked mr. Google! What do I think... probably that some people have a looooot of free time :))) Either that or a very sharp sense of humour... or a loose screw! Man, so many possibilities...

This is incredible, descentralize everything.

Its just another example in how block chains are the future of humanity, praise thou block chain!

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Holy shit I am peeing myself! That is hilarious!!!!

Not sure what all of this means. I, like most normal people am somewhat religious. I don't understand how one could worship the blockchain. Why doesn't he just worship normal things like myself and many others. I worship chicken wings.

Hhaahah this is crazy. I don't think the concept of decentralizationa applies here

The incels and QAnon must have thought he was way too out there

I thought I already heard the weirdest thing in the world before but this one seems to be very different. Decentralized religion really sounds "decentralized". I wonder what more can blockchain do after 10 years?

i'd note that the christian Bible is already highly edited, often formed via political self-appointed deciders of what is to become the dominate belief. (see the First Council of Nicaea

Dear users of Steemit, I want to recommend you MassCoinApp - the best application for real traders.
It will help you to check the rate of cryptocurrency in desktop mode with real comfort.

Link to read full info and download: masscoinapp.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99