Old Money vs New Money

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Everyone knows that old money is inherited money, and if you didn't then now you do. New money is people that have made their riches themselves. I found this topic interesting, because I've always wondered what the differences were and how you could tell. As I was looking online, I found that there is so many differences, and I've decided to post some. Don't worry I'll make sure to list my sources below.
According to Mike Lapham, the Three Golden Rules of old money is: "Don't tell anyone, because they'll treat you differently. Don't show that you have wealth. Certainly don't spend it." This is different from new money because they they that if they were able to become millionaires on their own, then they could do it again. Another dead giveaway is seeing someone that wears name brand clothing, for example Gucci, and that garment has the name of the brand plastered all over the clothes. If you need a better image, think about Youtubers when they come into new money they splurge on name brand clothing as if they wanted to show off their wealth. People that are considered old money, they may expensive name brand clothing, but it's almost as if they are trying to hide it. I was reading on Reddit that some old monies even go as far as cutting off the tag that's sewn into their shirt.
I'm sorry to disappoint you, but it was at this point that I ended up going down a rabbit hole on Reddit. If you ask me, it's a good source unless you're writing a paper for school. I'll finish up by saying New Money is proud of their achievements, so they shamelessly walk around showcasing their high price tag wardrobe. Old Money some may be insecure, because they carry around guilt that they didn't earn any of the money they inherited.

https://blogs.wsj.com/wealth/2010/10/25/the-three-golden-rules-of-old-money/
https://www.reddit.com/r/AskReddit/comments/4kq18y/whats_a_dead_giveaway_that_someone_has_come_from/

Thanks for sticking through this shit show,

xoxoMichelle

Sort:  

The real trick at this point is to be any money at all, in my opinion. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71315.89
ETH 3677.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76