Confessions of a Writer, For Anyone Interested in Publishing a Book (15 years of experience)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

To publish a book is not impossible—provided you have the patience of Job, armadillo-thick skin, and staggering confidence in your work. There are exceptions, of course, but I can only share my experience.

In my late teens, unconsciously, I began working on my first book, Signposts to Elsewhere, by scribbling in the margins of books by my Masters (aphorists like Gibran, Wilde, Nietzsche, Blake, Kafka, etc...) This was around 25 years ago, well before social media. Even though I grew up in a culture, Egypt, where many spoke in proverbs, hardly anyone knew what an aphorism was (many still don't; they are like witty-wise sayings, only with a name tag).

I carried this manuscript of my one-liners with me for years, revising it and hardly showing it to a soul. It was a near-archaic form, who would care anyway? It would take me a full decade to get it published, after completing the bulk of it by my early twenties. The first kind hand extended to me at the time was by Alain de Botton, popular philosopher, who shared with me his agents' contacts to try to help me get my manuscript into print.

But, alas, it was not to be. Market considerations and such. A succession of other established writers, with a penchant for wisdom literature or poetry took me under their wings, and suggested that I publish in magazines, first (online or in print) to establish a publishing record, before a press might consider taking a chance on an unknown writer (especially, writing in such a "difficult" genre).

I did manage to place some of my work in magazines, in Egypt, where I was working as an editor for the United Nations, and abroad (UK, USA, etc...). Yet, in between my slender successes, I received a barrage of rejection letters from publishers, telling me that my work was too philosophical for a poetry publisher, or too poetic for a philosophy publisher, etc... etc... etc...

I despaired and rose, again, from my ashes. Inspired by my countless rejections, I wrote a poem:

Rejections

Rejections I receive, regularly
from the best and rest of them:

We have considered your proposal, but
decided not to accept it for publication.

Thank you for your submission,
sorry, we cannot make an offer.

We are unable to use your poetry
it is not quite appropriate for us.

We do appreciate your interest
good luck better luck best of luck.

Still I continue to draw and send forth
quivering arrows from this aching bow

Emboldened by Becket’s wry quip
“Try again, fail again, fail better.”

Citing Nietzsche’s modest abundance
“an artist does not know what is finest in their garden”

As I arrange yet another bouquet
always, with Baudelaire, in search of the New.


Eventually, I quit my job at the UN, left Egypt and decided to make the US my home in hopes of setting free the 3 book manuscripts that were, now, fluttering wildly against the bars of my ribcage (a book of poems had formed and another of essays, pieces of which I had also published in magazines and newspapers).

Within 6 months of my arriving in the US, my luck changed, dramatically. James Geary, former editor of Time magazine (Europe) and an aphorism aficionado, invited me to submit to his encyclopedia of The World's Great Aphorists alongside giants like Confucius, Voltaire, Twain, Shakespeare, and Emily Dickinson! I could hardly believe my good fortune when, shortly after, my first book ("Signposts") was accepted for publication, some 10 years ago.

Since then, I've gone on to publish 5 more books (with 5 different publishers) including a forthcoming collection of aphorisms, Where Epics Fail, due this year from Unbound (UK) in collaboration with Penguin Random House. While the rewards have been deep and abiding—participating in international festivals, reaching students and readers in far-flung corners of the world, award nominations—they've, largely, not been financial.

With the exception of very few big name publishers, with bottomless purses for marketing, authors are increasingly relied upon to get the word out pre/during/after book publication (through social media, book signings, word of mouth). It can be faintly exhausting for a wallflower. But, such is the irony of being a writer, or a private type in a public profession.

Which is why, finally, getting a book out into the world can feel like (to borrow an old-fashioned, somewhat machismo expression from my parent's generation) like marrying off one of your daughters. Proud papa can earn some hard-won relaxation, and not have to worry as much about her welfare... Unless of course, said daughter (the difficult to marry one, who took a decade to find a suitable suitor) should return home.

This is how I felt, earlier this morning, when I learned a book of mine was no longer available for sale. Or, if I might be permitted a mixed metaphor, it seemed like I was receiving a 'break-up' letter when I checked my mail to find a note from the publisher of my first book ('Signposts') lnotifying me that she was out of the book selling business and my book, along with many others, would no longer be available through her!

So, I've spend the better portion of this morning in something of a minor panic, reaching out to nearly 100 contacts in the literary/publishing world to explore my options for this, now, homeless book. Do I take back my divorced offspring, as some friends suggested, and try to self-publish her in these trying times for the publishing industry. It's an option, sure, and my ever-resourceful wife (@dianarpo) seems up for it. But, I simply don't have the heart or brain-space or oomph to go through all that—especially, with a new book out in a few months, requiring me to conserve my finite energy.

Mercifully, I don't have to consider this option just yet, as I've already heard back from a couple of independent publishers who are interested in reprinting it. (A minor miracle this, I’m told, considering others authors warned me that despite receiving glowing reviews and many awards, they've not had luck reprinting their work, for decades!) So, I'm counting my blessings and breathing easier, now. I'm also turning to a quote by Roman playwright, Terence, for sustenance: Books, too, have their destinies

What will be, will be and who knows, perhaps, this temporary setback will result in a bigger, better opportunity!

Sort:  

Very interesting to here your insights @yahialababidi. That poem made me laugh, as the first part reminds me of one of my uni lecturers when advising us glint-eyed impressionable students what to expect if we ever got a finished manuscript together. I still remember his words echoing in my mind all these years later, "Expect rejection after rejection... and when you think that's as much as you can take... more rejection."

It's good to hear you found a publisher to re-print your seminal work that must be such a relief. Like suddenly finding a child you had thought lost. Best of luck with the new book launch 📖🙂

Haha, good advice... "more rejection"... toughens one up, not to take things too, too personally, and to do one's best work!

Yes, relieved book is not kicked by curbside (but, also, ambitious for a bigger publisher than offers I have & exploring options).

Thanks, for stopping by, my friend. I wish you all the best with your own fine work, dear Rowan @raj808.

Cheers, Yahia

Very encouraging to hear about this. I have been carrying around manuscripts for a while, and have my first book coming out with a small but respectable publishing house in one month, after having given up hope several times. Thanks for sharing your story, I hope it will reach many aspiring and talented writers. Stories like this can mean the world to someone who is one of those wallflowers you describe...

Congratulations, on your first book, how exciting!

Never despair, it only gets better from here. Also, try to be as active as possible about getting book word out (small) publishers can only do so much.

Start working, now, (if you’ve not already) trying to get book reviews, online & ideally in print, too.

Start local, and radiate out. Get your (enthusiastic) readers to help you, too.

I wish you best of luck at the beginning of your journey & that you might find good homes for those other manuscripts, over time 🙏🏼

Thanks, yes, I guess I should be more active in trying to get reviews & the word out more. It's a philosophy for general audience, so will have to think of how to do reach people. I'm very bad at networking & marketing, rather spend my time writing... but of course you're absolutely right.

I'm following you now, looking forward if you would write about how to approach that... the hurdle after finding the publisher so to speak ;)

Networking & marketing are half of the Work, I’m afraid (on Steemit, too ;) You might begin by approaching Philosophy Now magazine (most popular philosophy magazine in the UK & maybe the world).

Read them, online, first and if they won’t consider reviewing your work, maybe they or others might feature an excerpt. Submit to various outlets to increase your chances

Try and enjoy this part, too, of your research & becoming a published writer :)

Thank you, for joining me; if you scroll back, you’ll find some philosophical pieces.

Yeah, I know of Philosophy Now... But this is a Dutch book (my first English book will come out this autumn), so the market is slightly more limited than that.

But yes, I'm enjoying it. Just need to stop planning and actually doing something to reach out more. Thanks!

I appreciate you sharing your wealth of knowledge with us. I read through this with great interest, as publishing is one of those - still someway out there - dreams of mine. Reading what others have been through in their own publishing journeys helps put things into perspective.

Grateful for your attention, new friend 🙏🏼

Publishing, like other dreams, is one that begins with preparedness and comes to fruition through hard work and, yes, good luck 🍀

I’ve heard from many folks, over the years, about their book ideas, titles and all. What’s missing is the writing itself, honing of their craft and the hard work of trying to get published (going through libraries and magazines, online and in the real world, to see who’s publishing what).

Listening to podcasts, lately, helps and reading, reading, reading... Best wishes, Yahia

Thanks for listing out more tips. I don't consider myself in a position to publish yet, but it is a dream for making real one day. And I agree, it takes a lot of hard work. A lot of dedication. I'm just getting into podcasts, as well as trying to establish myself here at Steemit, and learn more about the trade. And yes - read, read, read. Fortunately I enjoy that aspect of it.

Like everything else, it’s about timing...

Sounds like you’re doing all the right prep work - keep it up & best of luck (when the time is right)!

I mentioned this post in this week edition of The Library

Very grateful to see it, thank you!

Few strong and realistic words from an experienced fella..! 🤗

It seems like a tough world to face for any potential author...!
u have had experience of working with high valued professionals like James Geary..! And looks to be a turn around for ur career for that time being..!
Thanks for sharing ur precious experience with us..!🙌
This is more like an inspirational words for new authors..!
best regards for ur next publication.. 🌞🌞

~Greetings from Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

I’ve been helped, and continue to be, by so many others along the way, Tennis Girl 🎾 , it’s a privilege to hear my experience can be of some help to others!

Many thanks, for your uplifting enthusiasm 🤗

yeah, its all about helping out..! 🤗
its still the best planet to live, we just need to spread our helping hand altogether..! 🤗🤗

Amen, sister ❤️🌍💫

Amen, bro..! 🙂🙂

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD curation Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept and are willing to let us share your post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd to learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you have any questions regarding the project or nomination, please, let me know.

Hope to hear from you soon!

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be resteemed. Good Luck!

I am certainly willing, and honored, thank you, @m31! I do hope my story can be of some use to other writers 🙏🏼

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Yahia from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for this my friend... I have lots of poetry I'd like to have published one day... and I wrote a short novella science fiction / spiritual self-help guide that I always envisioned being published one day.

I learnt from Jack Canfield when he talks of book publishings that it's common to face many many 'no thank you's' before you get to the 'Yes please!'.

But each No is one step closer to the Yes that's waiting for you.

I'm glad that the right people believed in you and helped to lead you to where you are now - An established writer when several publications under your belt. Congratulations my friend!

It's an inspiring story and an important lesson within.

Just as I wrote that last line, the music I'm listening to at this moment in time echoed this line -

"Follow your dreams"
Arms and Sleepers - Dead Dogs Don't Bite.

Just thought I'd mention that. Seemed appropriate timing. The Universe often chats to me through song lyrics!

Thanks for writing and sharing this. I'm inspired by your success and the story behind it.

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

Consider yourself very lucky that the universe communicates to you in winks and nudges: lyrics and numbers :)

I'm grateful my story inspired you and wish you focus, determination and yes, Good Luck, in getting published!

My advice: before you start thinking books, start smaller and try to get individual works published to establish a track record, in magazines/journals, online or in print.

And, while you dream on, keep honing your craft--conscious effort is never wasted. Peace, Yahia

Epic advice... you're a wise man... thank you for sharing with me!

I always look to role models and mentors who have been where I seek to go and learn what I can from them... so if you ever feel you have anything else of worth to share with me, know that my ears are open and my soul is full of gratitude for any other wisdom you wish to share!

Once again it's great to meet you here... I'm really grateful to be in the same place as so many passionate and successful writers. I'm so inspired by it all!

Thank you :)

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

I, too, am inspired by all the thirsting souls and their creative output, here, on Steemit.

We each do what we can with what we have, my friend. What I have, I share in my posts.

I feel that your heart is open and that is why your message is inspired/inspiring. What you
can work on (what we can all work on) is form. And, for that you must read great work (off Steemit, classics and modern poets, alike) avoiding the cliche and always reaching further...

The rest is mystery <3

Thank you... I'm on the path of opening my heart more and more every day.. and discovering more of the unique and wonderful ways that I can be of service on this Earth and contribute to the greater good. I came here to make this world a better place... and I'm starting to remember the method that I wanted to do it!

It's a wonderful time in my life. I only discovered the writer / poet within me 2 years ago... and I just turned 30 at the turn of the year... I'm so excited about what the next 10 years holds in store for me...

I'm off to an amazing start having just found Steemit!

Thank you for your advice. I wasn't 'into' poetry or literature too much as I grew up.. so my knowledge of the classics is limited to say the least.

I feel I must study more to expose my fullest potential as a writer and wordsmith...

and I endeavor to get there!

Thank you for your support.

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

✨🙏🏼💫

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67020.32
ETH 3084.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70