You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is Being Proud of Yourself Considered Bad?

in #writing6 years ago

You know what, I COMPLETELY hear you! So much so that i'll be resteeming this post. We definitely have this same issue in the UK too! I never feel proud of myself because worry it seems like arrogance. In fact I really can't take compliments at all. I find it so awkward and never know where to look or what to say.. even though i'm a confident woman. I think I need to stop playing shit down or downgrading myself.

Sort:  

Awww thank you so much, I really appreciate the resteem! 🤗 I have definitely been like that before, trying to downplay myself and feeling awkward when complimented, when of course everyone really wants to be complimented. Why is it so hard to just say "thank you!"

I'm totally with you. Slowly learning to get over the awkwardness. I think as women there is so much pressure on us to not be too self-assured or 'cocky', so much so that we go completely the other way and end up undervaluing ourselves. You've raised a very important issue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63814.67
ETH 3194.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90