You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memory Musing: My Brain's Functioning Just Fine (Alternative Title: Don't Lose your Keys)

in #writing5 years ago

A: Lastpass is an excellent way of keepin' ALL dem keys (hasn't failed me once... over 90 unique logins, and one pass-phrase which is simply a bar of song lyrics from 1991)

B: This was an extremely painful article to read, as I have memory damage, and have trouble forming new ones... At times it has been so bad that I (later discovered) I was indexing new memories via tying them onto old ones.. somewhat like the concept of the "script-kiddie" who has one massive script that he just keeps tacking things onto again and again and again until it's so unwieldy that even this breaks down...

And it did.. a few years ago, while targeted by a con-artist who made heavy use of gaslighting techniques, I was living in a situation of such stress that I literally forgot what I was saying in mid-sentence once... and had to ask what the topic was. PTSD (which is very much the aftermath of a peculiar form of brain-injury) can lead to this sort of mismatched wiring, as it is literally a throwback mechanism to the days before reason, to our deep survival instincts and ancestral memories which; much to the chagrin of many people, remain written into our bones until this very day...

And let me say... those gaslighters are most unprepared for what happens when a victim reaches The Kingdom of Butterflies...

Sort:  

Thanks for the tip! I promise I'll get on it. I'm sorry that you found it painful to read. It's merely skimming the surface of how memory might work in various ways. I know what it feels like to stop mid sentence. When we go to that deep limbic brain stuff it's pure survival - the memories formed in the more rational, higher parts of our reasoning brain just don't come into it.

Wow, just read the Kingdom of Butterflies - thanks so much for putting me onto that beautiful piece of writing! What an extraordinary way you have with words. I just love your wriitng so much and so glad we met.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88