THE DICTATOR

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Episode 3 :Ambush

 

Previously on The Dictator..

I am Oyande. A journalist trapped in a troubled country. I miss my wife, Sumatra and kids. It's been three years since the unsurge of the military terror. Fate took me out of prison but placed me in the pestilence of war....

Now..

GeGegege!!!...Gegegeegege!! Tang! Tang! Tang! Skrrr!! Vroom! Vroom!..."Don't stop keep driving!".. Gegegege! .."Yessah!" the soldier said as he swereved past a lamppost. *Pause*. How did I get here? A brief second ago I was fast asleep thanking my lucky stars that I just got out from a hell hole. The thirty minutes drive into town was uneventful but bumpy. What I or should I say we failed to notice was the scarce village folk along our way to Bukuri. The soldier in the front passenger seat suggested that they we're tendering to their farms. Now here he sat, face down, his body jerking violently due  to the bumpy ride. A bullet aimed at the driver missed it's trajectory but he wasn't so lucky.

"Sshh! All units divert and spread out, alpha tango take the lead, I repeat...shh" the general's voice brought my consciousness back to doomsday. "Journalist!!, we're heading for a bridge up ahead! On my count we are going to jump out and dive into the water! Can you swim?! the general yelled at me. " Eh,eh!" I said as I jerked with fright. "I said can you swim?!" He asked shaking me vigorously. "Yes! Yes! A little" I replied. The car flew at top speed as I managed to turn just in time to see the car behind us take a turn into a deserted street. The convoy had disintegrated I noticed. "Sir!" The bridge is up ahead approaching in 5 minutes! " The driver yelled. "Alright! Be ready to disengage." the general replied. We came under heavy fire once more but we managed to keep the pace. Thick smoke covered the windscreen emanating from a damaged cylinder in the engine. Our car shook violently as a rocket missile narrowly missed target. "Sir we're on!" the driver yelled "Journalist! On my count, one...two... I wasn't prepared for what happened next but the door swung violently open as the general shoved me hard. I thought surely I was going to die as l landed hard on the rough tar and rolled a distance. 

It took me a minute to regain myself as I felt strong arms under my armpit lifting me up. The general and the driver must have highlighted moments after I was thrown out. " Get up! We have no time" the general's voice rang distinctly. The general and his lieutenant propped me up. My legs wobbled as I tried desperately to gain balance. "Sir we need to jump!" the lieutenant yelled. I began to hear gunshots again, but this time it sounded louder and close..very close. "Jump!" "No!" I screamed. The car exploded a distance off as it caught fire. I was yanked off the bridge against my weak protest into the water..

BLACKOUT..

Cough!Cough!Cough! Tap!Tap! Wake up!. "Sir let's leave him" speaker 1.

 "No we will need him, I'l carry him. You get to the playground, secure it and wait for us." speaker 2 

"Yes Sir!" speaker 1

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

" Arrgh! you heavy but I got you friend " speaker 2

"Hey! Stop" anonymous voice 1 "Stop! " anonymous voice 2 *body drops* "Puit! Puit! Puit! " Arrgh..traitor..trai..Puit!

My eyes opened slowly as I sat up. Two dead bodies lay on the ground. "Hey! Wear this" the general said flinging aa bullet proof vest he stripped from his victim. He was on full kit as I observed. "We need to get out of here before nightfall" he said. I didn't get to change my wet clothes as we hurried away from the bank. The streets were empty with no signs of life or preexistence as we moved stealthily in the maze. "The Dictator is dead. I wonder what his loyalists are out to achieve fighting over a dead ruler" the general whispered. I noticed a shadow and drew the general's attention to it." Whose there?..come out with your hands raised where I can see them or I'l shoot" the general thundered. "Please don't shoot!" a man said visibly shaken as he came out from behind the car. 

"Who are you? Where is everybody?" I questioned him. "The-tt-they took them. All-al-all of th-them" he stammered. "The came in tru-trucks during the night and evacuated the city leaving only the crippled and sick. Anyone who tried to escape was killed. I hid myself out of fear. I don't know if they are still alive. I  am Fayub" he said. "Fayub, you know the city well to hide this long. We seek a short route to the playground" the general asked. " I can take you there but I must warn you the city is swarming with rebel soldiers, check points, road blocks and bombs. We must move fast" Fayub replied. The sun was fast setting upon us. My belly groaned in pain and hunger as we made our way through the street. Nightfall was coming. 

"Who are you? Where is everybody?" I questioned him. "The-tt-they took them. All-al-all of th-them" he stammered. "The came in tru-trucks during the night and evacuated the city leaving only the crippled and sick. Anyone who tried to escape was killed. I hid myself out of fear. I don't know if they are still alive. I  am Fayub" he said. "Fayub, you know the city well to hide this long. We seek a short route to the playground" the general asked. " I can take you there but I must warn you the city is swarming with rebel soldiers, check points, road blocks and bombs. We must move fast" Fayub replied. The sun was fast setting upon us. My belly groaned in pain and hunger as we made our way through the street. Nightfall was coming. 

...to be continued.

Source: Google













Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61231.91
ETH 2966.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47