The Pageant Queen: A Jealous Scene

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

queen-2941437_1920 (1).jpg
Up next...a script of Jealousy!

A week ago I posted the first of eight scripts, each a stand-alone scene, that I wrote as a part of a Creative Writing Drama class I took. Once those are posted, I'll put the final project, one act of a play, up in parts

This is the second one, with the prompt of: "Exercise 2: ‘Jealousy’ – Write a two-page scene with two characters: A is jealous of B."

How-to: Because I know scripts can be odd to read if you're not used to them, and from what I hear the format the class had us use was not standard, here's just a quick guide to reading it:

All stage direction, such as actions of the characters and scene description is in italics.
The name of the character who is speaking is in capitals on the left.
Pause means there's, well, a pause between dialogue.
Beat is like a rest in music: basically just a short pause.

Also, normal scripts have better spacing in the dialogue, but this was what the professor asked for (and formatting that way is surprisingly difficult). We were also told to only list the characters' names, ages, and gender.

THE PAGEANT QUEEN (a play)

CHARACTERS

TRISH: a 17 year old girl.

ROSE: a 19 year old girl.

ACT 2 SCENE 4

The scene is set in the dressing room for a beauty pageant. Vanities and stools line the walls, draped with costumes and clothes and cluttered with makeup and hair products. There is a door in the far corner leading to the pageant’s backstage. The door opens, allowing distant cheers and applause to drift in.

ROSE enters, wearing an enormous crown and a green, sparkly dress. She seems relieved but tired, and walks to a vanity. Rolling her eyes she takes the crown off, but before she can set it down TRISH bursts in, wearing a slightly smaller but still gaudy crown and a frilly, over-the-top pink dress. TRISH flops down at an especially messy vanity and begins dramatically crying.

ROSE: (without turning to look at TRISH) You okay?

TRISH whips around to face ROSE, her makeup starting to run.

TRISH: Do I look okay to you, jerk?

ROSE glances back at TRISH, raises an eyebrow, and then turns back to the vanity. TRISH watches ROSE casually drop the crown on it and begin to undress.

TRISH: You don’t even appreciate it, do you?

ROSE: The prize money? Yes, I do actually.

Beat.

TRISH: You do this and all you care about is the money? You’re stealing these pageants away for stupid money?

ROSE, finally free from her dress, leaves it on the floor and starts putting on her street clothes of jeans and a t-shirt.

TRISH: I mean, why would the judges pick you? I’m prettier. My dresses are nicer. It doesn’t make sense.

ROSE: I’m sure to you it doesn’t.

TRISH struggles, not knowing what to say. Her makeup continues to smudge and run across her face.

Beat.

TRISH: They were mine! Can’t you see that? I’m supposed to be the winner. That’s supposed to be my crown and my flowers and my applause. Not yours, mine!

Pause. The only sound is TRISH’s pitiful sobbing.

ROSE, now dressed, shakes her head and looks at TRISH.

ROSE: Do you think if I had a choice I’d be here? You’re right, I don’t like any of this glitz and glam crap. It’s dumb. But I need that prize money. It’s not my fault that a spoiled girl like you can’t deal with second place.

TRISH: You think I’m spoiled? You beat me!

Beat.

TRISH: Everything was great until you showed up. And now you have everything that matters to me. And they mean nothing to you. You just appeared and stole them from me. It’s not fair.

TRISH crosses her arms. ROSE shifts uneasily, and sits on the stool at her vanity.

ROSE: Look, I only need to win a few more pageants before I’ve earned enough. After that I can quit and you can go back to being queen of the world again.

TRISH: Oh how generous of you to give me my spotlight back after you’re through with it. You didn’t deserve it in the first place.

TRISH goes back to dramatic sobs at her vanity. ROSE frustratedly and quickly brushes out her styled updo.

Pause.

ROSE stands up and puts the crown in a duffle bag, which she carries as she walks toward the door. TRISH quiets down as she looks to see ROSE leaving, and then resumes her cries.

ROSE hesitates, her hand on the doorknob. She seems to be wrestling with something inside herself.

ROSE: (to TRISH, sighing) Some friends and I are going out to dinner in a little bit…want to join us?

TRISH looks up in surprise, then composes herself, attempting to wipe some of her now thoroughly messy makeup back into place.

TRISH: (faking ambivalence) And what makes you think I’d want to do that?

ROSE: I don’t know, I thought I’d try to be nice.

TRISH: Well, no. I don’t want to.

ROSE: (turning to leave) Fine.

Beat.

TRISH: Oh, Rose?

ROSE: Yes?

TRISH starts adjusting her drooping false eyelash.

TRISH: Even you should know by now to hang your gown up. Otherwise it’ll be wrinkled beyond repair. Just because it’s an ugly dress doesn’t mean it deserves to be left crumpled like that.

ROSE gives TRISH a wary look, but goes and puts the dress on a hanger on the vanity. TRISH flashes a perfect, practiced smile as ROSE exits, while continuing to fix her makeup.

Fade to black.


I remember feeling a little stumped as far as inspiration, and it probably shows. Still, I think it's not bad for my second attempt.

Even though my idea isn't super original, I'm happy I chose to do a concept where it's more that they're jealous of each other. Reading it over again, I think I might have been subconsciously influenced by my love of the musical Wicked. 💚

Anyways, I hope you enjoyed and thanks for reading!

Picture Source

Sort:  

Hi zeldacroft,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Oh my gosh, thank you so much! 😄

Congratulations @zeldacroft! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi there @zeldacroft!

I think it is close to real life situation. There are a lot of things happening in a pageant. For one thing jealousy always find its ways to creep in. Tje crown is too much to bear for one winner only. Everyone seems to think they more deserve to win the crown than the other. It is always a heated debate among the contestants. And it too hard to admit it as well.

It was a nice read, I enjoyed your story. Congrats on the curie love.

Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay, freeze frame: that foto (photo) is not only so well shot but pre-loading a major sense for the story already. I can feel the snobbyness that shall be present in the story with a character, especially with pageants. The most vile and sexist (I speak this unironically by the way) thing to infantilize and mystify what beauty is in a young lady's mind. But I shall shove that to the extreme corner since I know you aren't making a story promoting them. How will I keep it there?~ :p - Glad you asked, by stomping it with my steel-tipped and bottom-spiked boots of death. Moving on...

Intensifies gathering the popcorn for I hear the Drama Dragon stomping across the green pastures of my imagination

Good thing thou art actually considering linking other parts of your script collection, very important when it comes to Steemit. Anyways good in highlighting the prompt, giving a legend for how to read a script and commentating on why things like dialogue seem odd in the post for today~

Reacción (Reaction): Well, I as some random anonymous user of the internet on a World Wide Net have to say this: Thank you for struggling to find inspiration and committing to a second attempt. And this seemed original despite being a derivative of pageant shows, obviously your mentioning of Wicked (and change that word to unconscious, subconscious for those not ready to accept that the unconsciousness stands equal a conscious Order) and I very much lubbed (loved) it!~ <3 ALSO THREE TAGS, USE FIVE!!!!~ Got to use them ALL!!!!~ :p <<<<3333!!!!~ Add "story" and "fiction" to those tags next time~ Anywho, to the story, thank the merciful Spaghetti Monster of the First Italian Church of the Spaghetti God! It doesn't glorify but underlies the existing unconscious economic motivation for most winners which gets dressed up by the social fabric for fame, honour of a strict sense of hypersexualized females and being the first place in the beauty competition.

La filosofía (The Philosophy): Which inspired this Transbian (hi, I am a Trans Lesbian by the way!~) ærs full of stubborness and snobbyness to finally comment here on la filosofía (the philosophy) of the post. That the aftermath of those new into the creed knowing the very economic foundation but refusing to necessarily contribute to the social constructs and SuperStructure (Culture and Ideology). Rose, mind you a generic 19 year old girl presupposed in an American context (because I haven't seen them in mass popularity like the USA outside of the USA) yet developing a lil', just a lil', situational awareness to the World around her. (Okay the lil' part was a joke for those not familiar with the idiocy of the English language to have confusing figurative language rules and how they can be thrown around with literal words.) And with just that lil' bit of situational awareness, not only is she humble while being self-interested, she has a heart to not only give some tough love (critqueing out of love for the person to eventually develop better) and a hand in the mire Trish had found herself in. Really nice, survivor of your crazy Theatre professor. A reflection of that life isn't Satan's armpits and people do care for each other if they can peer beyond the ideology of the time.

La Forma (The Form): Wow, you weren't lying. I thought the steemit editor would help out make the script feel less clunky. But damn could I feel the professor physically slapping me through the ether seeing the formatting here. I wish I could Gordon Ramsey your teacher and just set their back back into a 180 degree angle and not this crooked form. Otherwise, everything seemed impossibly good for a stock standard script formatting; maybe in the interlude of being beaten up by your professor that the text unpecked itself. Anywho, good on doing good formatting unlike whatever your professor said.

So congrats on that @curie upvote, keep on playwrighting and happy steeming!~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66