Having a Crush on Your Boss

in #writing6 years ago

I recently left my job that I held for over two years. The move was amicable, and I'm glad I did it, but I wonder if all of the reasons I cited for leaving were truly valid. One reason for leaving, I told myself, was I had a major crush on my boss. "Having feelings for your superior is not a good idea in a professional environment," I told myself. "If I let her know how I feel and she doesn't reciprocate the feelings, it would make the situation much more awkward," I thought.

Now that I have moved on, I am starting to wonder if it was truly the best decision to move to another job because of my feelings for another person. My reasoning? I find that I am starting to have feelings for people at THIS job. What is the cause of this? Is there something wrong with me? Am I a bad person that can't help but fall in love with whomever he sees? Is this a common theme in coed workplaces?

https://www.bustle.com/articles/125245-heres-how-many-people-have-dated-a-coworker

According to this article, approximately 35% of people have dated a co-worker. 1 in 3. That's a pretty staggering number considering I've been trying but have failed for over 8 years. But I digress... Studies have shown that being in a high stress environment with a person of the opposite sex can make that person seem much more attractive. How many times have you seen a movie where the hero and heroine go through some life threatening event and end the movie with a huuuge deep kiss and .... fade out. Happily Ever After. This schema is something common to all humans. How else can you account for such a staggering statistic as 1 in 3?

http://www.spring.org.uk/2012/04/what-the-love-bridge-tells-us-about-how-thoughts-and-emotions-interact.php

I feel as though I keep crossing the love bridge over and over again.

The take away? Don't judge yourself for having feelings for another person. You are only human. An animal with urges and desires beyond one's control. Who knows, asking that person out may actually work out in the end!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56