THE FIRST TIME I REALIZED I WAS A WIZARD: WRITING PROMPT (WEEK 4)

in #writingprompt5 years ago (edited)

image

Source
The thick dark sky was lit up by lightning, the rain descending on the roof top like a hail of bullets in a battle ground.
Elizabeth rushed out to shut the windows which were forcefully opened by the angry wind. On reaching out for the window, she sighted a man struggling to get up from the floor from a distance.

"Could it be that he got stucked in the mud or maybe he is in some sort of trouble, she Soliloquized to herself."

Quickly, she dashed outside with an umbrella and a lamp towards the stranger.

rumble rumble sounded the thunder.....

image

"Young man please get up, I am here to help you said Elizabeth"

She lifted him up and realized he was bleeding profusely. struggling with the muddy ground, she managed to take him home.
On entering into the house, she lit other lamps in order to see properly.

""argh....urgh...."unhh.. ach... The stranger groaned in pain...so sorry Mr, you will be fine, Elizabeth assured him and placed him on her flowery bed and quickly rushed for a bucket of warm water and towel to clean him up.
Gently, she wiped his face and treated his wounds with her herbal mixture.

THE NEXT DAY

image
source

Before the sunrise, Elizabeth had already prepared breakfast for the stranger.

"I can see you are awake now Mr, Your breakfast is ready, oat meal and some fruits, I will feed you if you are not strong enough to...."

Don't bother ma'am, I will manage. You have done so much already. You might not know the sacrifice you have made for me, I will forever be indebted to you.
I....I... My....my... Family... He stammered.

"Calm down and have your breakfast, we will talk about whatever when you are done with your breakfast, okay."

He ate his breakfast so horridly and requested for more which Elizabeth served him.

"You can call me Maxwell ma'am, Maxwell Clifford said the stranger. You are really a great cook. Please pardon me for rushing the meal that way, it is just that for the past two days, I haven't had something to eat."

I am glad you enjoyed the meal. Please call me Elizabeth. So, what happened to you? Were you involved in a fight or something? You have so many injuries all over you Mr Maxwell.

Tear drops began to fall from his eyes as he narrated his near death experience of how he managed to escape from an intercommunal conflict which claimed they lives of many while journeying to visit his parents from the city.

"*I saw people been killed and die right before my very eyes. I was beaten mercilessly. The killers thought I had died and eventually left my brutalized body. I managed to struggle somehow, I remember seeing people walk pass me and none could help me, I struggled with death and do not know how I got here..
Thank you so much for showing me mercy Elizabeth, you are so kind, extraordinary and a wizard.

I am truly sorry for what you have been through.. I thank God for your survival too. But why should you describe me as a wizard? I have no magical powers at all...

Elizabeth, within a short time, I figured out who you were, you are just exactly what my mom described a wizard to be.** A wizard is not just one with magical powers but one who is selfless and loving, someone who takes risk, someone who eats healthy and most importantly, one who loves nature and I do see all those characteristics in you ma'am. I have never seen such flowery house in my life as yours.**

Oh I see, she smiled. Thanks for all the compliments. I never realized I was a wizard until today Mr Maxwell......

"Hahahahahah... They both burst out in laughter...."

THE END

image
This contest was organized by @themarkymark.

THANKS FOR READING

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @celineaugustinee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59