Meditating on Impermanence makes you Happy.

in #yoga6 years ago

When I heard about meditating on impermanence I resisted the idea.  It sounded really depressing - thinking about how everything flowers then fades away, dies and disappears.  ...All things eventually.  ...Even you.  Why would you want to focus on that?  

The reason is because it's completely liberating and joyful.

I thought that if I felt into the truth of how impermanent everything really is, it would be frightening and empty.  I would feel alone, lost and insecure .

..but what I've found is the space that open's up from this practice is not empty, it's full of pure, positive energy.  As you let go into it, you start to get in touch with an eternal part of yourself.  You realise that your body is the smallest part of you and you really are part of something so much bigger.  It feels great!

And as for all the things that won't be here for long, that you could love and lose, or miss terribly, or feel without.... 

Well, you feel like you can love them all the more
Delight totally in their poignant beauty  
Appreciate them completely, just as they are.  
Be with them fully, now - in this moment.  
It's a fantastic gift of life. 

 

There is enormous warmth, freedom and joy in the great space of being.  I give thanks to all the wisdom teachers and meditation masters of old who have shared this amazing experience through all their wisdom ways.  I give thanks to my Chi Master, Master Yang who is so patient with me and my practice. 

Happy Easter everyone, Or happy Ostara - whatever you celebrate.

warm regards,

Margot

 I love to write about energy, art and intuition.  Here are some of my recent posts: 

· The Nature Oracle
· 3 things you need to have a great day
· Enjoy Sunset on the Gold Coast
· 3 Jewel Paintings   
· "Wherever you stand, be the soul of that place"   

Your upvotes and comments are truly appreciated. 

Sort:  

I have never meditated but I find the philosophy interesting. So exactly how do you meditate on impermanence?

Hi @Kansuze,

What a great question! I will try to put the wisdom of 100s of energy masters into a nutshell.

  1. Sit quietly and notice your feelings as you think about some object of your focus. Start with something simple like a beautiful flower and think about how alive and lovely the flower is and how it will eventually fade and pass away.

  2. Usually some uncomfortable feeling comes up or some kind of indifference, or mental argument. Your job is to stay with the feelings behind the thoughts and simply just sit with them.... because they also dissolve and pass away.

  3. As you notice your initial feelings, you may start to notice that your body is contracted in some way, uncomfortable... just sit with those feelings further. Some people breathe into them. These contractions gradually release and open you into the great space of being.

The art is in the 'sitting with it as it is'.

It's not an easy practice to begin with and you should only do it if you feel called to try and have proper guidance. :-) Happy practicing.

regards,
Margot

I have friends who meditate. I guess you could say I haven't been called but they found it helped calm them. I'm already calm! :-)

Good on you @kansuze ! The world needs more calm people. When you are truly calm, you are in the zone and magic happens.

best wishes for your creative life.
Margot

I hope you're right. Best wishes to you too.
Susan

Maybe that’s what your next post should be, the how to on meditating. What you suggest for sents, music/sounds, surroundings and such.

Thanks for the suggestion @alaskahippie I'll put something together on that. :-)

영혼이 맑은 사람같군요.좋은 친구가 되고 싶네요^^

That's beautiful :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48