On the Value of Personal PracticesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #yoga7 years ago

Yoga classes are great. They provide structure. They hold you accountable. You can learn a ton. There’s a certain emotional contagion that a class generates went they start breathing and moving in synchrony.

But yoga classes have their limits.

IMG_3188.jpg

To speak puritanically, the real* yoga happens when you’re alone. When you’re following your own rhythm. When there’s no instructor babbling away. Again, I’m not knocking going to yoga classes, but there is a degree of intimacy and quietness that you can experience in a personal practice that just isn’t possible in the context of a class.

Most students I talk to and even many teachers practice exclusively in studios or gyms - a recent study found that only 24% of regular practitioners practiced alone at least once in the last year. The percentage practitioners who have a daily solo practice is far lower. If you put a gun to my head and told me to pull a number out of my butt I would say something like 2%.

Why?

"I wouldn’t know what to do practicing yoga by myself."

Sure, it takes some initial instruction and guidance to get a hang of things on the mat. But you don’t have to know every single asana to have a regular practice. You could just have a few basic movements you string together in a way that feels right. Or even one! It doesn’t have to be some complex acrobatic routine - all that mumbo jumbo often just gets in the way. Simple is potent.

But the rarity of solo practice in the modern yoga world goes beyond inexperience or laziness.

IMG_3175.jpg

Patanjali, an Indian sage who codified yogic philosophy in the influential Yoga Sutras, frames the purpose of yoga in sutra 1.2 as “chitta vritti nirodha” - to still the fluctuations of the mind. Quietness.

Quietness isn’t very highly esteemed in our culture. Silence is perceived as awkward. But it’s not the silence that’s awkward, it’s the people who are uncomfortable with it.

Yoga is a process of getting comfortable in the stillness, but we’re so used to the constant buzz, the noise, the stimulation that we’ve become afraid of going there. So it’s no surprise that the most popular breed of yoga in the west involves bone vibrating music. Please, anything to drown out what’s going on between my ears. We’ve taken the quietness out of a practice of quietness.

IMG_2577.jpg

If you’ve been attending classes for awhile and you’re curious about diving further, I’d highly recommend playing around with a regular solo practice. The only person who can take you deeper into your practice is you. A great teacher can point the way, but you’re the one who has to walk the path.

*dubious usage

Sort:  

Loved this post, I'd be thilled to practice at any of the locations you've pictured, although those wetlands might be a little tricky. I've only ever practiced alone but I follow videos on my computer. I appreciate the guidance about when to move into the next pose, but i really only listen for the timing so I dont have to think and just breathe. My goal is to get about 4 or 5 down so I can transition to just listening instead of watching, after that I'll be able to practice outside in the peace and quiet way more.

Dont know how people participate in group classes, my head would be everywhere, too much external stimuli

Thanks! All pictures my sister and I took when we were in India.

Sounds like you've got a great plan for getting your sea legs on the mat. Keep going! My solo practice changed my life :)

thanks for the encouragement!

Very nice and encouraging post. I've been wanting to start practicing yoga for a while but I never got into it, always finding excuses. I think I'm ready to start! :)

You got it - go for it!

Nice piece @jasonsnow - I've a few friends whose practice is a relative 'secret' and you'd never know really unless you asked what makes 'em tick - they get up at 5am, do their asana practice, usually Ashtanga ...go to work, don't brag about their new manduka mat or lululemon yoga pants etc - repeat, except Saturdays - of course ;) Nothing wrong with classes imo - but easy to get result orientated, and fall into a weird passive competitive gymnastics light and love rose-tinted pseudo-guru trip. Or maybe that's just me :p

As for Ashtanga (Patabi's) - if only my knees ...

"Nothing wrong with classes imo - but easy to get result orientated, and fall into a weird passive competitive gymnastics light and love rose-tinted pseudo-guru trip. " - agreed!

Thanks for the read and the thoughtful comment :)

My pleasure - happy to see some (((((om))))) reverberating around all the bits and bytes here on steemit ;)

Nicely articulated. Personally, yoga to a sound track will keep me away from any class - but a really good teacher (hard to find in general) who knows how to structure a class well, will help push the shadow's edge in a way I could not alone. That being said - self practice remains the most meditative and rewarding, but self discipline, lack of inspiring climate and landscape (London!) are my nemeses! But I feel duely encouraged - thank you ;)

Well said. A really good teacher is definitely tough to find.

I admit it. I'm mainly a class goer for my asana practice. Part of that is because I'm one of the owners of our yoga center and I just like to see the place and my peeps. Part of that is because I have the most gifted instructor with magic hands on adjustments. But today I home practiced for 90 minutes and it was amazing. 🙌🏽 Flow and following my heart and major insights. Both for me please. :)

Wasn't faulting it! If it weren't for yoga classes I wouldn't be able to make a living doing what I love haha. Both have their purpose for sure :^)

Agreed brother. Balance is best. ✌🏾

Beautiful piece. Yoga classes create such a loving community of people and non judgmental spaces. It is always refreshing <3

Hey Jason!
As promised here we are to provide you with some recommendations for your blog.
To be honest, you probably don't even need us :-) You're doing a lot of things quite well already, and we have no doubt that you're going to find your way here on steemit.

One thing that really called our attention is your positive attitude. We've just flown over a couple of comments you left on other people's blogs. Your engagement and positivity is just the way to go! That's how you're going to become part of this community and how your own blog will constantly grow into the right direction.

We don't really understand why you say that you are "expert on nothing" in your profile description. You obviously are! :-) You are a yoga expert and really good writer for a start.

Considering this article as an example regarding "writing style" you might improve one thing: try to use cross headings in order to structure the page and make reading easier. So try to use different font sizes to highlight what you want to put in front, leaving the details (not everybody might want to study) in the back. People just don't have time! Haha. It's a pitty, but that's like it is... They just wanna fly over the content, getting an idea of it anways, making a super fast decision whether they love the read or they don't (upvote vs. no upvote).

But again, you're doing already quite well. The only thing you need is a bit more visiblity. But that will come with time... Your content is good! That's the most important thing.

To provide you with a little more attention, this post has just been upvoted (100%) and resteemed by @surfermarly :-)
It's a very good example on how your content might find an even wider audience in the future: Yoga is a niche. However, when talking about yoga you might touch a lot of other topics that could be interesting for people even though they don't practice yoga. You probably weren't even aware of it, but you could have easily used the tag "photography" for this article since you included some really nice pictures here.

What I mean is: try to "open" your content a little bit and make "reach" your main goal. What might people want to read here on steemit? How can I (Jason) inspire them? What do I know what they could learn from me? Why would they come back to my bog, what would they find their? Would I meet with their expectations? Try to see it as a business, where you fulfill the dreams of your customers (in that case: your readers) :-)

As previously mentioned @acromott might be a great source of inspiration for you :-)

Hoping that you consider the information helpful we wish you a great time here on steemit! It's all about fun!!! :-)

@steemaniacs - a project run by @surfermarly

Ahh I appreciate the conscientious feedback! You're doing such awesome work for the community. Followed all of you.

Nice article and beautiful images! I love the last photography, it's as if you could feel the wind that's moving the curtain...
Resteemed.
Steem on!

Took that shot in my room in India. Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70245.15
ETH 3761.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99