You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 8 Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

in #yoga6 years ago

I have always wanted to get into yoga. When I google searched I could only find snippets. I would have never known that yoga encompasses that much. Thank you for this post @saramiller! As a future scientist I have heard a lot about the benefits of yoga. And I am all about trying new things. I will go and look into this more. Do you have any suggestions about where to start? Cheers @lesshorrible!

Sort:  

Yoga encompasses even MORE than this!!! This is just a super simplified outline, and only one style for looking at it. There are many, many more "types" of yoga than just ashtanga.

If you want a physical practice, I suggest you get a DVD or watch a youtube video and practice at home!
If you want relaxation, I suggest you try meditation - just sit down for 5-10 minutes and focus on your breath. When your thoughts start to wander, bring your mind back to the breath - no judgment!

That's a quick way to get into it, but wait - there's more! Awhile back I wrote a little guide for getting started:
https://steemit.com/yoga/@saramiller/yoga-2-0-where-to-start

Cool! Thank you very much!

You're welcome! I'm happy to help in any way I can if you ever have questions or just want to share your practice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71122.86
ETH 3848.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49