Movement Medicine: Calm

in #yoga5 years ago

I will be the first to tell you, that without the proper balance of sleep, food, activity, creativity, and caffeine, I can be a little less than pleasant. Because of an increase in my work load and a decrease in my physical activity, I could notice myself becoming a little crabby, and perhaps a little less than kind to my loved ones.

A flare in a chronic condition has had me off the yoga mat for a few weeks, and it seems like the longer I'm off the yoga mat, the harder it is to get back on, no matter how much I miss it, or need it. I always fear regression in my practice, and in those weeks without practice, the body quickly erases lean muscle and forgets flexibility.

But the body also remembers what is best for it, and has it's own muscle memory to make up for weeks of no practice. So at my wits' end today, I found myself back on the mat for the first time in what felt like ages.

Not wanting to push my body too far and needing a gentle guidance, I selected this video from the wonderful Adriene Mishler to follow. This particular video was titled Movement Medicine: Calm, which sounded exactly like what I needed.

And that is exactly what it turned out to be.

The video is great for those who are new to the practice or returning after a break. It manages to stretch out hip and shoulders that may need a good break from working in front of a computer. And without being too strenuous, it manages to bring a little heat. And it's only 17 minutes, which means it can be tacked on to any busy schedule, in less time than it would take to watch a sitcom.

At the end of the video, I finally had the inner calm that had been missing all these weeks without yoga, and I had the energy to look at my work load, not as daunting or exhausting, but as just another endeavor to triumph.

I recommend the video for anyone who needs to take a moment for themselves, mind and body.

Sort:  

I started doing Yoga today after being out of the mat for 1 year. I started with Adriene "DEDICATE - A 30 Day Yoga Journey" and I'm loving it. Thank you for this post it's nice to see this recommendation (:

I love 'yoga with Adriene' She's so down to earth and has a video for every situation. Way to get back on your mat, and make space for yourself!

Thanks for sharing this! I have been dealing with off and on back pain for several years now. It comes and it goes and I have always thought it might be a good idea to do some yoga to help strengthen those muscles as well as stretch them. I am not very athletic so I need to start with something relatively low impact. I will definitely have to check this out a little closer and add it to my playlist. My wife has been a rock star with her exercise routine lately and if I don't get my but in gear I know I am going to regret it.

Definitely check out Yoga with Adriene, she's really motivational without being pushy, and is great for beginners and people who have a longstanding practice.
Back pain is no fun, but yoga can definitely help!

I will definitely do that for sure. I just need to find the motivation. That is always the hardest part!

Posted using Partiko Android

I really like yoga but dont do it often. I would like to get into a habit of doing it, especially now that I'm on a mindfulness kick - trying to be mindful for a portion of each day. This post has inspired me to give yoga a try this weekend

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83