You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hammerstone Or Cannonball ? Nature Identification Thread @mountainwashere

The part that is crushed in a bit looks like some type of gemstone. The closest thing that I can think of when I see the texture is some kind of dark granite that I find around the shores of Lake Superior although I am not very good at identifying all the stones, these dark rocks I consider granite may not be granite at all. Nice, round find though! I think that it has the possibility of being used as a tool.

Thanks for using the #rockhound tag! Manually curated by @bitfiend and also with the @rockhounds account!

Sort:  

Thank you very much @rockhounds! & @bitfiend!
It does appear like granite, but I've never seen any other
granites here have this black patina like coating before.

It would be cool to have it tested somewhere :-)

Love your #rockhound tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80