Force vs Creative Vision

in #youtube6 years ago

For my final art project in school, I had one idea in mind. I'd been planning it since my second year in high school. But sadly, my teachers wouldn't let me use my idea. So instead I created a short, almost picture-book like story of my muses and I.

At the very start of said 'picture book', I had an introductory page to show my muses, their names, and their personality. Specifically how they influenced me in my day to day life. I spent ages on each page, each portrait, each piece. Straining for perfection and hating every moment, despite drawing characters that I otherwise enjoyed drawing.

portrait_jade_comparison.jpg
I recently decided to start redrawing my school project. No longer forced, but of my own volition. Frankly, the difference is amazing. The piece was done much quicker and I had fun doing it. I used what I was comfortable and knowledgeable in, rather than forcing a style I had no practice in.

wolveportrait_comparison.jpg
It was also a chance to apply new ideas and features I've been thinking on regarding my characters. As I grow, so must they. Should that mean longer ears, darker skin, different haircuts, or different eyes, then I went with it. I kept them recognizable, but I also made them unique.

mizuki_avatar_comparison.jpg
Their appearance reflects how I drew them at the time, where at first I was forced and unhappy. Bitter about my original idea being forcibly abandoned. The second time I was excited and happy. Eager to explore where I could go with the image to make it my own. To cleanse it, so to speak, f the taint that school brought it.

Check out the process for Jade here!

Check out the process for Wolve here!

Check out the process for Mizuki here!

Don't force a style you're not ready for or comfortable with. I'm not saying don't explore new skills, but don't force yourself to learn anime if you rather draw realistic, or vice versa. We all have our own styles, and art? Is supposed to be fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73