Revisiting Mistakes || Fire and Fear

in #youtube6 years ago

One of my favourite iterations of Jade is 'Queen.' An unstable shadowy mess that's consumed almost entirely by fearlings. She's ruled by emotion and the urge to destroy, and very little logic. However, this version of Jade still has some sense inside her, enough to keep her from hurting loved ones. Including Jack (Frost), Baby Tooth, and my best friends OC, Devesh Baz.

I started to create an image showing her pausing at a loved one, but I couldn't get the lineart how I wanted it, I couldn't get it perfect. A very dangerous mindset for an artist. But upon returning to it ages later, I just... went with it. Sometimes that's what you have to do. Even if there are mistakes, you push through it to get it done. Sometimes that's hard to do, and I feel it's pretty hard to reach taht point, but once you do, it's liberating.

queendev_comparison.jpg
My issue was how the hair curled around Devesh, it didn't feel right, but it also felt wrong to get rid of it. I wanted to show how close she was to Dev, as well as something that made it feel like she was 'feeling him out'. As if she were unsure of who he was, or how he managed to stop her just by existing.

With the finished product, I wanted to show conflicting sides. While Devesh was part Phoenix and produced fire on command, Jade... or Queen in this case, was literal shadow and fearlings. Darkness and Light, and if you wanted to alliterate; Fire and Fear.

Check out the process here!

Music used;
Different Heaven - Nekozilla - (LFZ Remix) [NCS release]


Disfigure - Hollah! [NCS Release]

Jensation - Joystick [NCS Release]

Voicians - Seconds [NCS Release]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58