Taking it Slow || Peekaboo

in #youtube6 years ago (edited)

I don't watch much anime, but there's a few that I absolutely adore. Mirai Nikki (Future Diary), and Hellsing. While I'd done plenty of pictures of Yuno from Mirai Nikki, I hadn't drawn anything from Hellsing. So I finally sat down and decided to draw 'Alucard' the main character from Hellsing Ultimate. The intimidating vampire who seems undeniably immortal.

alucard_watermark.png

It took some time to come up with an idea that fit the dashing vampire. But in the end i decided I wanted to show off his complicated glove markings that played an important part in the anime and manga. I opened several references to make sure I got both the glove, the character, and the pattern correct. With that both on screen with the picture and on my second monitor I got to work sketching out Alucard before sketching out the glove pattern. While this could've waited till the lineart phase, this gave me the opportunity to see how it'd all fit together. This didn't seem like it'd take a long time, but I wanted it to be perfect.

From there I cleaned up other parts such as the face and hair before working on the lineart, using a small textured brush to give it a more natural feeling. With the references on hand, drawing folds and shading was a lot easier.

When it came to putting lineart on the pattern on Alucards glove, I wanted to make sure it looked as much like the glove as possible. With no circle tool in Paint Tool Sai, i held the marker down to create as natural a circle as a I could, hollowing out the centre and resizing it to fit the pattern, using it as a base for a proper circle. After that it was much easier to work on the pattern, especially with the sketch underneath.

As per usual with most of my work, I highlight the outside and fill any gaps before inverting it and colouring it with a bright obvious colour. This technique helps me locate any gaps within the colouring process.

See the process here!

Music used;
Jensation - Joystick [NCS Release]


Elektronomia - Sky High [NCS Release]

Laszlo - One Step Away [NCS Release]

Elektronomia & JJD - Free [NCS Release]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71