What I learned from posting a video a week on YouTube for 4 years

in #youtube6 years ago

Doing anything consistently takes work. I wanted to see if I could turn a pastime into a hobby and maybe even make some money doing it. So, the summer of 2011 I started posting to my channel 'soaljack' every week. I had heard that consistency with posting was crucial to success. For the next four years I made sure my audience received a weekly video. I made a few hundred dollars and learned a lot along the way. I did not do it for the money or fame, I did it for myself. I will share with you some of the lessons and the reason why I quit.

Accountability

When you say your going to do something and let people know, it keeps you accountable. I told my soon to be wife and friends that I was going to do this inconceivable thing. I did not know how I was going to do it, but I knew I wanted to. When you set a goal, write it out and share it, you are way more likely to achieve it. I also had the hundreds of subscribers to keep happy.

Do what you Love

I would have never been able to keep up the pace without passion for the art of filmmaking. I worked a full time job and did this all in my spare time. Without passion you get bored and give up. I still love to edit video and create art. Creating something that did not exist in the world and sharing it is one of the best feelings I known.

Flying drones is Awesome!

Having fun doing what your doing is important. When I got my first DJI Phantom drone with a GoPro strapped to the bottom and flew it around I was in haven. The amazing shots you can achieve really show the world in a whole new light. When your doing what you love and discovering new fun things like flying drones, you know your on the right path. I made new friends with total strangers and shared my passion with a whole new community on YouTube.

All good things come to an end

After 4 years, a marriage, two kids, and landing my dream job at a tech startup, I was ready to give it up. At least posting every week. I loved that time in my life and would not change a thing. I now have new amazing challenges in my life. I still love to film and fly my drone. I still make the occasional video and share it with the world. Just as you embrace the things that you are passionate about, you much also let them go when they don't serve you any more.

Thanks for watching reading
soaljack

Sort:  

Really good writing, the R/C stuff drones FPV really can make new connections. Did you allready fly also a FPV race drone? For me it makes mor fun then flying a dji phantom, it's more imersiv. Check my profile for a little introduction. Keep on doing what you like the most.

Thanks! I have not flown FPV, but can imagine it would be very exhilarating. Maybe for my next project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79