How to Earn Money Revenue from Music at YouTube?

in #youtube6 years ago (edited)

Online passive income for music creators.

20180418_093357_0001.png

Hello,

I want to share with you what I discovered and learned, during my journeys within distributing, publishing and promoting music I have composed, produced and recorded in the past years.

YouTube is one of the biggest platforms, where people can publish their videos and on the internet. There are numerous video topics in thousands (if not millions), of channels out there, with even more content published every week, which are related to various trends people are searching for online.

With all of this, where does the music fit in?

Actually, music on YouTube is mostly featured in the background in other videos, and as one of those music videos to be played by others during their work at home, in the car or in their free time. So, there are couple of uses I have discovered people tend to search for on YouTube:

  • Background Music
  • ‎Soundtrack Music
  • ‎Gaming Music
  • ‎Mix Tape
  • ‎Music Mix

Those are the categories I personally use to promote music. But how to describe more the music you have?

We, people who are music creators, tend to name the type of the music by Genreand Style, for example "Orchestral Rock" or "Electronic Deep House", mostly because that is the knowledge we acquired to understand more the music as creators. Also schools and education created those boundaries for us. However, that is not what most of the people, the general public is looking for.

Of course, the DJs will promote their House music, and people will know this type of music as House. Eventually they will create their own sub names and sub categories, but still - those DJs indoctrinated in some way the name "House Music", which later turns into a Brand.

So, the keywords and general descriptions by non music creators, are mostly described by Moods and Themes. For example:

  • ‎Late Night Chill
  • ‎Relaxing Sunday Morning
  • ‎Study and Concentration

Those types of keywords are more common to everyone. For example:

  • Imagine a person, who is working full time at some corporation, who throughout most of the days, wants to sit on the couch and relax after all days of work with a glass of wine or Scotch on the rocks.
  • Launches tbd notebook or tablet, opens up YouTube, and searches for something to accompany current free time.
  • Doesn't want to think much, too tired, so types what first comes to mind, which is basically describing what the person wants and what is happening around. Late Night, Relax.

It's all about putting yourself in other person's shoes, just like Depeche Mode's song "Walking in My Shoes".

By creating and publishing various videos, with these types of categories and keywords, I was able to gather an interesting amount of features in other channels' videos. These features, depending on their views and popularity, allowed me earn constantly growing revenue, thanks to the platform I registered with - AdRev.

IMG_20180418_085548.jpghttp://cid.adrev.net/?r=4130

AdRev is a platform, which basically scans through YouTube in search for music. The music must be first submitted to AdRev. You can either submit your own, or music by others (if we have an appropriate agreement with other music creators), manage their revenues and charge them 20% from the income.

IMG_20180418_085043.pnghttp://cid.adrev.net/?r=4130

The revenues' payouts work just like with any other royalty revenues service (PRS, etc), which is four time a year. Here is a screenshot from their email they sent me:

AdRev Revenue Payments.jpeghttp://cid.adrev.net/?r=4130

When I submitted my first music with this platform, in April 2014, I had couple of videos on YouTube promoting my music. Later I created two different channels, one for my personal use - Voytek Pavlik, and the other one for promoting music with use of the categories and keywords I mentioned above - RealPublic. Throughout these years, I have managed to receive four digits revenue.

Screenshot_20180418-090225.png

The payments go regularly to PayPal. Sometimes there could be delays, however AdRev informs if anything like that happens. They also have a very helpful customer service, and some content available to all creators, which helps in getting the music out there.

If you are interested in registering with this platform, use this referral link to support me further - http://cid.adrev.net/?r=4130 , and I recommend you to read their agreement carefully.

AdRev is now also working on gathering music revenues from Dailymotion, Vimeo, SoundCloud and even Facebook. They are currently getting a proper deal with Facebook. Looks like Mr Zuckenberg is being a little bit too picky on hownit could work with his platform. We will see how this will turn out.

I invite you all to share this card with those, who might be interested in submitting their music with AdRev, to earn extra revenues with their music on YouTube. By promoting this card, and my other cards on my channel, you are able to earn revenues too.

With best regards,
Voytek Pavlik

Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Hey, just wanted to let you know I gave you an upvote because I appreciate your content! =D See you around

I can see you put a lot of time into this post. It payed off.

Sort of. Wrote this 2 weeks ago in my notes, took screenshots, cropped them, made the banner/thumbnail and posted it later. First I tried to publish it on Channels.cc, but failed twice unfortunately, so I posted it here @Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58