Trying new things

in #yu-stem5 years ago

I'm sick today so I can't go out to take some photos. I decided to take few photos indoors, I tried to capture some drops of milk and see what results will I get. After taking about 50 photos I ended up with only one that looks great and one that is not that special. As you can see, this process is long but effective, final result will be amazing.

IMG_1020.jpg

CameraLensShutter speedF-stopISO
Canon 600DSigma 17-50mm1/200 sec.f/8100

This is what I used for this photo shooting:

  1. Canon 600D with Sigma 17-50 lens
  2. Speedlight flash Yongnuo YN685 that was in manual mode, not in TTL
  3. Milk
  4. Glass
  5. Syringe that I used for making drops of milk
  6. Some tiles that I have laying around
  7. Food coloring to make photos more interesting
  8. Tripod
  9. Wired remote for Canon

One problem that I have is that my flash can't be used as external because I don't have trigger for it so I had to use it on my camera.

To make this photo you need to put your camera on tripod, turn off autofocus and use manual so you can focus right, because lens won't do that by it self, because of white milk. Flash put into manual mode and set power to about 1/16 or 1/32 because if you use full power you won't be able to freeze motion. When everything is set, take remote shutter and try making drops with syringe and try to sync when drop falls into milk to release shutter. You probably won't make this photo first time, you will need more time to make perfect photo. Tiles were used for background and place where milk can fall without damaging your table, it's easier to clean up mess. One important thing is to use smaller aperture because of depth of field, try using f/8 or higher.

IMG_20190305_144841.jpg

By mixing some colors you can get great results. I'm still waiting for my trigger for flash to come from China, but when it comes it will be way better photos. One reason for that is because I can put flash behind the background and make some silhouette photos of drops. I hope it will arrive soon so I can show you what I meant to do. :)

IMG_1035.jpg

CameraLensShutter speedF-stopISO
Canon 600DSigma 17-50mm1/200 sec.f/8100

For now, this is how I will take photos. I hope you enjoyed!

Sort:  




This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail in collaboration with @curie.

If you appreciate the work we are doing then consider voting both projects for witness by selecting stem.witness and curie!

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Wow! That's a dedicated photographer. I've never looked at milk like that before :)

Thanks! Soon it will be better, I'm waiting for trigger to arrive. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84