What cha' gonna do.....

in #zap6 years ago



When a Robot Takes your job?
......................................................................................................................................................
notice I didn't say IF?
.................................

I was talking to my son about that very thing a few hours ago
(gotta love unlimited long distance)
...he asked that question.
I asked him if he'd ever heard of Universal Basic Income.

He said
Yeah..
but what are people going to do with all that free time?

Whatcha gonna do...

If you can do WHAT you want to.

If no one TELLS you what to?

Can you handle the decision?

Will the stress of not being stressed be too great?

Huh? Tell me.

Sort:  

I asked him if he'd ever heard of Universal Basic Income.

I haven't heard you talk about this...sounds like you support it?

When a Robot Takes your job?

I presumed this was already occurring with zap postings.. 😂😂😂

super writing.....zap

maybe try to reinvent ourselves in time before we lose everything. eventually most jobs will be taken by robots, and its already starting, i was passed by one of google autonomous cars

no kidding?
awesome.
my son and I were talking about HIS son (my grandson)
who is totally UNinterested in learning how to drive a car.
all he cares about is transportation.
getting from point A to point B...
as cheaply and safely as possible
getting a fancy car
to impress the girls
and spend most of his income on
is so
NOT HIM.

pretty soon he won't have to.
autonomous cars from Uber...Lyft..and others

all he cares about is transportation.
getting from point A to point B...
as cheaply and safely as possible
getting a fancy car
to impress the girls
and spend most of his income on
is so
NOT HIM.

I was very similar...I almost bought a Honda Fit...oof...

Luckily a little "convincing" from my significant other (who sure as hell didn't want to be seen in that pile of junk) changed my mind.

It's been a long time now, I'm far more interested in the mechanics of the car, and I'm more attracted to a little flash. Don't know if it's an age or mid-life crisis sort of thing...I don't overthink it.

But I can't wait for autonomous cars either...it'd be nice to be able to relax during a long road trip...and maybe drive down airline prices.

26 hours running, no need for what I wrote to be remembered…. I will surely die out.

are you saying that you derive your reason for living from you JOB?

Work provided reward, greater effort and luck which you make greater rewards, but a reason for living could never be alone all derived from any job in my view. But the absence of work itself, idleness, boredom, apathy and depression are consequences. A job does promote a level of well-being, take that away what fills the void. I am tired..does that make any sense?

nope.
I've been retired for three years.
I haven't missed having a job one bit.

Me too even longer (ten years plus)... I see where you are coming from. But I wasn't trying to apply to myself. I am aware of the anti-work theories that all work is misery, all suffering comes from it and we must stop working to end this or something like that. I guess I don't fully buy into that. We may be retired from the job, but we keep busy and never stop. I can's imagine eternal leisure or every day of every week is a Saturday. From my few weeks here you are working your varied gifts and that is a beautiful thing.

I've heard it said
that TRUE success is being paid to play.

I haven't missed having a job one bit.

Absolutely...not at all (just miss the action, sometimes, the rest forgetaboutit).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59