Gratitude Challenge TWO: Grateful for Hope

Grateful for hope that what is, isn't always what will be

grad 2.jpg

One of the harshest realities on the homestead is that living things die, whether it be out of the blue or something you try to prevent from happening. It's the hardest lesson I have learned over and over again.

When we first moved onto our property we tilled and planted a garden, we had baby veggie starts ALL OVER, then EVERYTHING DIED..... The last season we bred and birthed kids (baby goats) we suffered more loss than I could bear. We agonized over all of the possible reasons for the loss but it did not matter, nothing could undo what was.

grad 2 2.JPG

We decided to try to breed again over winter. We were SO nervous! All through out the many pregnancies just thinking all of this could end in misery. We remained hopeful but not counting on any results. A week before Easter we had our first healthy living kid drop. I was frantically checking on her all throughout the day and night, scared every time that I would find something wrong.

KIMG3076.JPG

I am grateful for a successful breeding season and hope in the future to have more of the same results!

As the weeks went on, more and more kids were born. Two here, one there, two more over there. We just kept holding our breathe. Mama after mama did exactly as she should. We ran into a set back one day before the farmers market when a set of twins got goopy butt! I cleaned them off just like I've done the baby chicken vents and watched them cautiously for a few days, NO ISSUE SINCE!

This season we have had 12 kids in total, with 11 healthy active almost weaned and ready to go into their own pasture. We did suffer loss on our first set of twins with the male being still born and it hurt just the same as before. It never gets easier but it does make you feel more appreciation for the lives that do survive!

I have spent every spare second with all of these beautiful babies and they are becoming more loving everyday. I cannot wait for the next season of breeding. I hope we continue to have success like this.

KIMG2797_04.JPG
KIMG2483.JPG
KIMG2633.JPGKIMG2613.JPG

Thank you so much @canadianrenegade for nominating me for this 7 day gratitude challenge in this article, https://steemit.com/7daypositivitychallenge/@canadianrenegade/gratitude-challenge-1-we-re-all-connected, and I am grateful you and I are now connected!

I challenge:

@GardenofEden
@LoveNFreedom
@Papa-Pepper

The rules:

Write a post about something you have to be positive about today - this could be anything from being thankful for your current situation, someone being nice to you, being thankful for your friends and family, or even being thankful for the opportunity you have been given here on Steemit - just keep it positive :)
Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
Mention three people who should do this on each day.
Tag it with #7daypositivitychallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post Include a picture of something positive (related to your story if possible.)
Tip: You need to put the # in front of 7daypositivitychallenge or it will not let you use the tag.

Feel free to Comment, Like, Follow, Resteem this article and or myself! I am a new steemian and am excited to be here in this community!

Sort:  

Ginabot said you mentioned me! Thanks Mama.

I accept the challenge. I'll start tomorrow but I can draft it in my head today.

Wow, you're raising goats and have kids to show for it. We're starting with chickens. And we need a fence first for predator proofing even before we attempt to add to the homestead.

This invitation is for you and Mrs @canadianrenegade as well - I know there aren't enough hours in a day to sit down and chat but we have a discord group for Mamas. I'm in and out there with a 7-month old and 3 more children but we're a happy bunch!

20180516_002249_0001.png

This is great! I had no idea. You're right, there aren't enough hours in the day but it's nice to know the resource is there. I will try to check it out soon. -Aimee

Thanks for the invite! I joined!! Looking forward to connecting with you ladies!

We also started with chickens!! Fencing is so important. Everything will eat them, cats, dogs, hawks, foxes, EVERTYTHING!!!

20180516_002249_0001.png

We lost our triplets so its been tough.

Loss is the hardest part of life. But it hopefully makes your appreciation of life grow!

The homestead life isn't for the faint is it? We're not even on our property yet and I can tell you that I already know I will have trouble will these same types of loss. I have a hard time saying goodbye to our steer a I always thank them and their beautiful eyes and long lashed get me misty every time. -Aimee

Butchering is a necessary loss for a cause - it doesn't make it easier to deal with but when I lose an animal and the reason is unclear I always seem blame myself and go over all of the possibilities - spend hours researching and find I still have more questions than answers.

Spoken like a true homesteader! -A

Thank you for sharing I plan to get goats one day once we are totally settled. Right now I am doing the chicken thing. I collect my eggs sell them, and I also am incubating eggs to sell those chicks. I also have allowed 3 of my hens get broody in the last 24 hours. Soon we will have lots of baby chicks running around. Homesteading has its ups and downs. Just recently I came home and found out my favorite silkie was gone and today I found her feathers. Very sad but like you I will keep going. Best of luck I am following you now and resteeming this post so I too can take part in this challenge. Hope to hear lots from you. Take care

Just focus more on the good than the bad! Thank you so much for helping get this article out. Consider yourself nominated! I'll challenge you in my upcoming post today!! Sounds like you are making the most of the chickens! They are the most versatile animal on the homestead for us. I also followed you and look forward to connecting!

Beautiful babies! Congrats :) We hope to have goat kids this year. Hoping the Mama's know what they're doing, because we sure don't! Amazing when it all goes like clockwork, no vets needed.

We are always watching and have the necessary supplies to intervene BUT they are WAYYY more effective than I am!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64