My Actifit Report Card: March 14 2019

in #actifit5 years ago

The weather was pretty nice today and I played eighteen baskets of disc golf scoring a +8. I need to work on my putting and other parts of my game. At least I'm able to throw farther - now I just need to improve accuracy.

I also walked the dog and rode my bike as usual. I noticed a couple of ducks at the retention pond. There have been many birds around recently.

The city workers have cleared a lot of plant growth around the edges of the pond and not much has grown back yet. The water looks a bit unclear right now.

I did a lot of movement around the office, it is a bit hard to get 10,000 steps consistently for me. It is more than I'm used to but it does feel like it is good for me to do.

I'm still doing some tutorials on the Godot game development engine. So far it is looking really good. Having open source code is a real benefit.

I'm not longer interested in doing anything with closed source high priced software if I have any choice in the matter.

Open source lets you look at the code and find answers to questions if the documentation is unclear. It can also be a really good tool if you have some serious problem with your project that you just can't figure out or work around.

Open source can even let you rebuild your tools and port them to a new operating system. This can be a real benefit if the company that makes the software goes out of business or your operating system is no longer supported and you need to move your software to a more modern computer.

With all this good open source software freely available I really feel like things are starting to fit together in a fine way. There are lots of fun things for me to do now.


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+. Text and graphics copyright lightsplasher & litesplasher.




10020
Cycling, Golf, Moving Around Office

Sort:  

Amazing photography & really good.
Thanks @lightsplasher
Have a nice day

You are becoming more perfect with your golf throwing and I beleive you will go a long way on that pact if you take the game to the next level , it seems to me that you are a programmer or a software engineer .

Thank you, I am enjoying disc golf right now. Earlier it was bicycling then running and then skiing. I still enjoy those activities though I can't run anymore. I have done software engineering among other things.

I see your point in using an open source software while the closed source really are for those who wanted convenience if they can or willing to pay. @lightsplasher.
I wish you success fro all of your future endeavors.

For any program that you spend a lot of time learning, I think open source is better. Unless your work gives you no choice. Thank you, and best wishes for your health and success too!

Great Actifit post and awesome photography dear @lightsplasher i like your actifit fitness post

Every day upvote every day resteem

Great article, my friend!

10k activity count! Nice :D!

Stay motivated :)

I am not a dev, but just a user and I favor open source. For photography I like Gimp. I also use Open Office and Blender and LMMS. All free and good too!

Even as a user it seems like the price is right on open source. I've spent so many dollars and time on using and learning software only to have it be purchased by some rival company and then discontinued. The industry as a whole seems to be moving more towards open source.

@lightsplasher, For sure it's great thing and view to have birds around because they can spread very fun environment and also their Music and Communication is really sweet to hear. And for sure You Are Blessed. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, and you too. I enjoy taking picture of birds sometimes as well. I should get out my other camera and make sure it still works. The birds usually won't let me get close enough with the smartphone to get a very good photo.

Welcome and in my opinion exploring them is enough because sometimes birds teach us lessons. Have a great time ahead.

Excellent review @lightsplasher and you were very active today, played golfdisk and took great photos, it's great!

great article friend.
i admire your work,nice count @lightsplasher

Wow excellent post dear @lightsplasher thank you for shere...?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87