You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Actifit Report Card: May 30 2019

in #actifit5 years ago

It would be nice to pass some real laws to help with the issues and not the fake ones my state is passing. Oh, you can't get a straw at a sit-down restaurant in the middle of the city but you can still get them at the snack bar on the bear with a styrofoam cup. It is so crazy. We banned one-time use plastic bags at grocery stores, but not at the 99cent store or any of the million other retail spots. So, now the food costs a bit more to cover the cost of the multiuse yet still plastic bags we have to buy for a dime. Mind you they tax us for that dime also in the law. For that tax money why not just give us all a few cloth bags. Really if the world would start using glass again we could fix this pretty fast but it is hard to figure out how. Stuff in glass just cost more. The sad fact is most people are poor or poorish. Also, we are all so busy that we don't have time to do stuff the right way so we get single use this and single-use that. I wish I had better answers but I don't

Sort:  

Yes slapdash laws do not achieve anything sadly, I know carry some made from recycled bags in my car that I use for grocery shopping, and try to avoid taking plastic bags where i can but some shops insist on giving them to you so you walk the street advertising there store in a bag that is just destined for the trash
Yes your right plastic is mass produced and cheap and prices reflect in what people can afford to buy, and yes convenience also plays a big part, when I go on a long walk and need a drink I will but a bottle of water, often yes it can be recycled and II take my empties till I pass a set of bins which includes a recycling which there are a lot in-the city luckily.
Our office building had banned single use plastics in all the cafeterias, which is a good think, they have water in tin cans and cardboard boxes, but I ust admit i have never bough the ate rain cardboard Carton’s yet myself I am sure it tastes the same just seems odd to me, so I am as guilty s anyone but trying to do my little bit to help

!tip

🎁 Hi @stever82! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Market Friday Downtown Milford Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83