When Saving the Environment can Change a Child's Life!

in #actnearn5 years ago

A few weeks back, I was perusing the feed on my Zuckerberg-book account, catching up with the happenings in the lives of the folk that I haven't been able to recruit to the blockchain yet, when something that an old schoolmate of mine shared caught my eye.

It was an article about a guy who was collecting recyclable bottles and cans to raise funds for the local library, but was wondering what to do with the non-recyclable lids rather than have them dumped into landfill.

The article goes on to introduce a charity called Envision, who are using 3D Printing technology to take these unusable plastic lids, and use them to produce brightly coloured mobility aids and prosthetics for children.

image.png
Image taken directly from Envision website - link below

You can read the article here if you want to. I duly on-shared the article, as I felt it was a worthwhile read.

A couple of hours later, I got an email at work from my wife telling me that someone had set up a collection point for the lids at her office - she hadn't even got around to reading the article I'd shared, but recalled seeing it.

The organisation collecting on behalf of Envision in Australia are called Lids4Kids and have reprsentatives all over Australia. These guys gather up the lids from the collection points, make sure they are of the right type, are clean and then sort by colour before shipping them off to Envision.

So not only, are these things not destroying our environment by being dumped into landfill (or worse, littering), they are being used to truly make life easier for children.

20190902 07.07.40.jpg
A bag of lids we have collected, with some help from other family members outside our household, to be sent off to Envision via Lids4Kids

If you want to know more about Envision, check out their website here.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for alerting me to this post - @minismallholding, you might like to read this if you haven't already. I think maybe we have a collection point at my work, but if we don't, I'm going to get one started! Awesome. @pennsif, you might like this one too.

I have come across this before, but I've yet to find a collection point.

Posted using Partiko Android

Personally I like the fact Envision are closing the loop, between recycling the materials and actually finding a practical use for the reclaimed materials. Thanks for tagging others who may be interested.

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85