B.A.L.S. - I Don't Want My Pictures on Facebook

in #advice6 years ago


Hey guys,

So the question today deals with whether or not someone has the right to put your picture on Facebook.

I guess it has become such a societal norm that we don't even really stop to think about it anymore.

Lady Steem gives her answer/advice in the video above! Check it out!

Have a Fabulous Friday guys!

xx - Lady Steem


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I get permission to publish from all bands in my videos because I don't want to be in a position where I have to take them down later. It also gets me out of some copyright infringement claims; I have an email from the author stating I can publish. With as many smart phones as people at any given venue, it is unavoidable to end up online, and yes, not tagging the individuals in the shots seemed like a good idea until, ...facial recognition software :/

If they have 1 tagged picture, they can find you in many other on line pictures you are not even aware of. Putting Cameras in phones was a convenient albeit dumb idea.

While not trying to sound like an antisocial jerk, if you do not want your photo taken then do not hang around those who take a lot of photos. Just as a recovering alcoholic should not visit with those who indulge, if you do not like what is going on in your company then leave.

I TOTALLY agree. You don't sound like an antisocial jerk at all. It's 2018, I think that most people expect if they show up to a social function that they will have their pic end up on Facebook.

My ex-husband hated his photo being anywhere online as he didn't want certain people to find him, part of an ongoing story that may or may not have been the truth.

But I agree with you, in this day and age it is inevitable if you attend events, parties or weddings, that you might possibly end up in a photo or two.

I won't post up pictures that have other children in them, without permission, like the kids sports day for example.

I have trouble with this in terms of my girls and whether they will dislike me when they are older for posting some of their photos online, but my 7 year old wants to do vlogging and she has some really good ideas on subjects, she is inspired by Shot of the Jaegers.

New steemithandle for that coming soon LOL.

OMG I have a 7 year old too and she is the exact same way!!!

I'm sure that our kids will hate us later for posting embarrassing photos of them that will live forever online, haha, but I suppose it's not a whole lot different than busting out the ole photo album whenever a friend (or boyfriend) comes over. It's our rite of passage as parents right? ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85