You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Master's wisdoms # 19 – everything is at your service

in #advice6 years ago

I'm not sure I agree with some parts of this post, especially not the ones about health.
As it is, I suffer from many various health issues, some from childhood (paralyzing migraines at least since I was 4 years old, maybe less), others from adolescence and onward (I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis at at age 34, but have been suffering from symptoms since I was 18). Both conditions don't serve me in any way that I can think of. I've never thought of myself as incapable, and I don't "give discounts" to myself because of these conditions, I do my work as I believe a person should, and I try to live my life as normally as possible (with the exceptions of going to the movies, which I miss greatly, and being careful not to over-exert myself physically otherwise).
I would really like to know what you think about such conditions, and how they can "serve me", as you say. I'm not asking this defiantly, I just want to understand your point of view, maybe there's something I'm not aware of and can indeed help me and others in the future.

Sort:  

Health issues from childhood are a different thing and the "how does the illness serve me" paradigm doesn't apply.
Nevertheless, it's almost a scientific fact that one's psychic status influences one's physical condition. You may want to read one of Louise Hay's books as a starting point on your journey to understand the connection in your case. There are some well based connections, but each case needs to be examined on its on. Therfore I will refrain from giving any specific suggestions.

I will just give two general comments.

I get the connection of the cancer to this matter, really. I've seen cases like this, it's very sad.
However, I'm intrigued by the books. Which Louise Hay book would you recommend?

I recently read a book by Joyce McDougall, The Many Faces of Eros, where she deals with psychosomatic issues of her patients. One of the things she said there, and was very interesting to me, was that sometimes medical conditions since childhood (like migraines) are caused by some early-infancy trauma in connection with the parental relationship, etc. I've been dying to know what the source of my migraines is. I am probably over-analyzing everything in life, but I don't think I've been doing it since I was 3-4yo, right? This makes no sense, considering the structure of the mind and its development, etc.
What would you say on something like this?

As for the RA, it's a well-known fact that autoimmune diseases and conditions are tightly connected with emotional issues and traumas. This is why I can say exactly when my symptoms began, although there was no medical evidence that linked it to my condition until 17 years later. But such diseases and conditions, to the best of my knowledge, cannot be cured, even if the reason that caused them was handled. Or have you heard differently? Again, I'd love to know.

But such diseases and conditions, to the best of my knowledge, cannot be cured

I will use this words of yours as a slingshot to my main point. How does it serve you? 99% of the issues, problems, that we, humans, have are there to lead us towards enlightenment, towards opening up to the constant source that sustains us. This is a fundamental principle that governs life.

Every occurrence in your life is placed there, by you, to lead you to enlightenment.

Part of enlightenment is sovereignty. So again, if you accept what other people say about your life, and specifically the health situation, you are not sovereign. And the situation will remain until you make the step to claim your sovereignty. Do you want to heal? So why are you accepting what other tell you, that such illnesses can not be cured?! How does the surrender to other people's opinions serve you?!

The same with health issues from childhood. Now, it seems, there is a force bigger than life, that compels you to surrender. "it's been with me since childhood, so it's beyond my capacity to fix now as an adult". Or "it's caused by trauma when I was a child and since I can't go back in time, I can't fix it, so I'm doomed to live with it". Do you see the pattern?

The question remains, a victim or a master?

And as long as you choose to linger, as long as you prefer to not choose or worse, to be a victim, the situation will remain.
Because it serves you!

"but it happened when I was a child", your rational mind says. "I was not over-thinking then, so how could those migraine be psychosomatic?!" I usually prefer to tell the mind to stop it, rather than give it more food to chew on, but I will give you a reasonable explanation because I know it will help you, your mind, to be willing to release its grip.

Don't think linearly, as if time is consecutive. What if your adult aspect came back in time and planted these migraines in the body of the child, to force you to deal with the over rationality as soon as possible, to force you to open up to your spiritual self as early as possible?! Consider this option, although your mind wants to dismiss it as being totally impossible.

Re: Louise Hay - any book will do. Feel what suits you best and begin.

Hope I helped. Feel free to ask if you still have some questions. That is, if your mind needs more reassurances for what YOU already know so well.🙂

Okay, so far you've been saying many things that sound great and fine, and I like the notion of future-me who planted those migraines in my brain as a child (this sounds like something I would do, in all honesty), but saying "don't linger" or "don't accept it as it is" doesn't help. Of course I'd like to do something about it, but what do you do, in practice? Where do you even start to fathom the origin of whatever it is that haunts you?
Also, regarding the autoimmune condition - sure, I totally want to overcome it. I eat well, and while I don't live well, I definitely try to. If someone deals with an unknown domain, how can they fight it or work with/against it? What is even the first step one should take to heal from something that is considered unhealable? After all, this is not a virus or a type of bacteria you're fighting here, and not even an outside infection - this is your own body that attacks itself. Which is scary and creepy and freaky, and so far the entire world of medicine remains helpless when it comes to dealing with such things.

I'd love to be proven wrong. I'd love to learn something new. I'd be thrilled to have a fair chance of getting healthier and more energized, and actually to stop over-thinking things, too. But how?

I do hear you.
The answer I have for you, though very true, will be rejected by your mind which will consider it an enigma, or worse, a deception.
You ask what to do in practise. I say, nothing.
But to trust and believe.
Understand, you ARE healthy. Your body is healthy. Your body is designed to heal itself and return to balance. It does so all the time. Will you allow it to do so despite what your mind tells you?
For the only fight that is going on right now is within you, between the mind and the body.
It's beautiful that you do not give up (else you would not summon this correspondence).
You ask for practical steps.
Begin with this source:
https://www.amazon.com/Way-Toward-Health-Seth-Book/dp/1878424300

I don't know. I understand your point of view, but I know of people with RA or other diseases who have it much worse than I do - I know someone that at 20 years old had to undergo a hip and knee replacement because her joints were completely fused together. This is not a "mind over body" condition, in my opinion. There are things that even the strongest belief will have a hard time curing. How about severe allergies that can kill you, like nuts, or even those really strange allergies only 100 people in the world have, like allergies to sweat or water? And diseases like Coeliac?

A few years ago, I used to get regular reflexology treatments from someone who knew me very well. At some point she started getting really worried and ask me if there was something wrong with my kidneys. And me, what do I know, I feel fine, so I said no. And whenever she touched a specific point in my feet I'd flinch, because it hurt. And she got more and more worried. But apart from the pain in my foot, I was just fine.
A few weeks later, I realized I was walking with really bad shoes and replaced them. That was the end of that story. My kidneys were, and still are, just fine. And as I told her - sometimes, despite everything, a pain in my foot is simply that - a pain in my foot.

I'm not trying to discredit or disprove anything here, but especially as a therapist, isn't it important to doubt and consider the options that maybe, sometimes, a physical condition is exactly that, without an underlying mind thing?

a physical condition is exactly that, without an underlying mind thing?

Small issues, yes.
I do understand what you are saying.
The best healer is the person himself /herself.
And I do recommend that last book, though 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62991.27
ETH 3180.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82