The Lions Of Masai Mara, Kenya (10 Photos)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #africa5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

The fourth one looks like she would be telling him: Bring me some food, NOW! If you don't do it, I'll eat you :D And that stretch! Looks like a little kitty - very cute :)

Great shots! Were you there with locals? Just wondering as I would probably pee in my pants if I would ever get so close to lions (from the excitement and fear at the same time, lol)

Thank you for sharing! Hope you're having a great weekend!

Haha thanks! I had a guide and spent most of the time in an open top Jeep.

Posted using Partiko Android

The predators have this conflicting relationship everywhere and leave no stone unturned to damage the livestock whenever possible. At my place, we have a large number of panthers. They often visit the villages when hungry and find nothing to eat in the forest. So, the villagers are always on guard, specially during the dusk or dawn and livestock is taken inside, before the sun goes down.

Anyway, You've showed us some really powerful pictures. I specially like the one with lion stretching his body and the last ones, the pack seem to have got a huge party that day :D Thanks for sharing and have a good day :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! We humans have a complicated relationship with apex predators. It will only become worse as we encroach upon their hunting grounds and eliminate their food sources.

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Awesome, thank you @c-squared community!

Hi joshman,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks again to the @curie community!

This was a really fascinating post on the lions in the wild. It paints a very real picture of what the lion's day is like. I don't know why that jackal was so brave (stupid) in harassing that lioness. And I didn't know a pack would cuddle with their supper like that. So I hope you had a long range lens taking these pictures, I'd be afraid of winding up as lunch.

Thanks for dropping by. You never really know what you will see on safari! My lens was just long enough fortunately!

hi @joshman
your trip to Africa must have been magnificent, I also saw your previous posts! These animals in the savannah are wonderful! What season did you go to? how much time do you recommend for a stress free trip?
The lioness in the first pictures is one of the best models I've ever seen !!
Congratulations and thank you for sharing with us!

Thanks! I actually live in east Africa, so I have quite a few trips. I went in September on this particular trip, and the weather was perfect. If you want to see the most number of animals, the more days/game drives the better. Sometimes you'll see very little, others it will be a constant deluge of cool stuff.

Beautiful collection of photography, the great and majestic animals. I always loved lions, actually they reminded me my cat and all the behaviour of them is the behaviour of cats, when they are stretching, sunning or sleeping. The shots are of very good quality and you managed to include everything even hunting. Really amazing!

Wooaw.... Lovely Kenyan lions you have I there. And am glad I met your blog this day. I have had many thoughts about lions that I had to clarify but your amazing blog made me get some ideas.

All the Lions in there are awesome... Except when they get you as their meat..... Lol
I really enjoyed every time I spent on your blog. Great work and keep the wilds spirit up

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=joshman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=thelionsofmasaimarakenya10photos-b26ilfiboo


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

They are incredible photos. I can not believe you were so close to the lions. It must have been an amazing experience. a pity that there are so few lions, once in a documentary I saw that today there were more statues of lions than live lions.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95