Why We Drink In The First Place #1

in #alcohol6 years ago

wine supermarket.jpg

The reasons for drinking are multitudinous and ubiquitous. Now I've had seven months to sober up, get a qualification, then get drunk again, then sober all the way up because drinking wasn't helping, I think I'm in a position to start to lay out those reasons why people drink.

One of the main reasons people drink is because the opportunity to do so is absolutely fucking everywhere. If you can't see alcohol, you can see its image, advertised. You can't escape it, that constant reminder feeding you the subliminal expectation of drinking being liberating, being sensual, making you attractive and proving how much fun you really are.

And, you are supposed to drink. Everyone does. What's wrong with you if you don't? Alcohol is condoned, blessed, supplied, drinking it is completely normal, any negative effects are glossed over or disregarded. Despite the known health risks and massive damage done to society, to lives, booze is nonetheless a huge tax haul for a government, and there is nowhere in this ex-Christian country that it is properly controlled.

I walked into a Waitrose supermarket the other day. Waitrose, the jewel in the crown of supermarkets, owned by its staff, the very church of posh, middle-class Britain.

It was a Tuesday. As I walked in, I saw rows and rows of bottles, before I saw even a sandwich or a three-bean smoothie. I then walked along the aisles towards the alcohol section counting the rows of bottles before I had even arrived there. Eight separate islands of till-friendly, last-minute impulse-buy stacks of booze for the friendly denizens of Saint Waitrose before you even get to the Holy of Holies, the wine section.

Then at the wine section, the sacred pause. The moment of truth. The lighting is absolutely incredible, the long rippling layers of labels, the bright flashing of special offers. Now, your mental movie provides a clichéd advertising trope which has found a hook into your deep brain involving the breathless expectation of the meal and the ritual of uncorking in mediterranean light.

That's a good discount, you start thinking, a lovely drop and normally stupidly expensive. Now it's slightly cheaper, ooh can we stretch and still get a second to follow it up? No you fool, it's still stupidly expensive. This is Waitrose, the very Cathedral of the Universal Booze Emporium, the glorious supermarket we all want to shop at without worrying about anything.

Even Waitrose is no more these days than an off licence selling sea-salt and quinoa scented crisps, and pre-filled bowls of Fair Trade chocolate muesli.

So.

Why We Drink In The First Place #1 - because it's fucking everywhere.

Sort:  

You're right. It is everywhere! (But so is food and clothing, and I never feel any joy in shopping for those.)

It's weird. I've drank moderate-heavy for much of my adult life, and then had a change of schedule and found I just lost all interest in it. A large bottle of whiskey used to last me a week and now it hangs around for a couple of months.

Aside from cultural conditioning, my interest in alcohol goes back to age 11. I didn't have a lot of boozy adult examples around me, it was just curiosity on my part. I think if you're a certain kind of person, you grow up and realise booze is more of a drain on resources than it is a pleasure, however much fun it can be. And it is fun. Marketing all over the drinking world says it's fun, so it must be true. Here's to the new baby! To the bride and groom! He had a good life. Here's to uncle John!

lovely to read you again.

It is fucking everywhere and it is stupidly expensive and yet... and yet...

Now though, in my seventeenth year of sobriety, even these aisles in Waitrose hold as little allure for me as the bit with chewy toys for dogs, but I only got there through patient practice, conscious abstinence and the solidarity of others trudging the same road.

Good luck!

Thanks. I have to write, it's in my blood. Much easier to just keep that particular juice flowing in my veins. Room for one more on top!

If like me, your body tells you, 'any more and Ill seriously make you pay tomorrow', then you wont really have a problem.

I do drink but one beer a night is all I can muster. That threat keeps me from consuming more.

I'm very good at stopping, loads of practice :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64