You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Aren't You BEING All Those Things You Say You "Really Want to Do?"

in #ambitions5 years ago

I can totally relate to what you are saying here.

For me, I enjoy dabbling with all sorts of "projects", but when it comes to focusing on one JOB, then it becomes WORK. Of course, work is not fun, so avoid work by simply dabbling. Dabbling means there are no deadlines or products to complete. I can work at my own speed, stop whenever I want and never finish a project, because it was never mandated as a job that had to be completed. That makes it fun. I bet the same applies for all the writing you do here; you write because you have something to say and you do it for the reward and it is done... finished... short and sweet. Writing a book, on the other hand means organizing chapters and writing lots and lots of pages before you can call it "done".

Sort:  

Certainly, the "fun" vs. "work" equation plays into the mix here!

Before I decided to focus more attention on art (which does make me genuinely happy), I was a "dabbler" for many years. And I had no attached expectations, other than having an enjoyable pastime, whenever I had some spare time.

I can justify my writing here because most of my pieces nowadays are fairly short... and, as you say, I can write, "set it free," and not have to worry anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88